Interview with Peter Buffett, author of ‘Life Is What You Make It’ + Blog’s 1st Birthday Bash!

Peter Buffett, the son of billionaire investor Warren Buffett, is an Emmy Award-winning musician and a professional composer, producer and philanthropist. He is also the author of the thought-provoking book ‘Life Is What You Make It’.

Life Is What You Make It is about transcending your circumstances, taking up the reins of your destiny, and living your life to the fullest”.

The book is enlightening – “We can strive to succeed in our work; we can strive to excel at our work; unfortunately, that’s not the same thing as loving our work, or finding in it the truest expression of who we are“.

And it is brutally honest – “There are many young people… who don’t take advantage of the luxury of time, but barrel straight ahead into work lives that may or may not be right for them, that may or may not be fulfilling”. “As if dreams can wait but a paycheck can’t”.

Read the book and find out:

*What Peter learnt from his father, Warren Buffett, about work and money

*Why Warren Buffett thinks his children should be given “enough to do anything, but not enough to do nothing”

*How to dedicate your work to a purpose larger than yourself

*How to deal with mistakes

*And much more…

“Wise and inspiring… should be required reading”Bill Clinton

“We will have everyone in our family read and discuss Life Is What You Make ItBill and Melinda Gates

Purchase a copy of Peter’s book here

The Interview with Peter Buffett

Here is a part of Peter’s answers to 2 of the questions I had for him:

Question 1: What prompted you to write the book ‘Life Is What You Make It’?

Peter: I was just going on in my life, creating my own way, building my business in music and as my father got to be more well-known, when people would meet me, they’d say “You’re Warren Buffett’s son. You’re so normal!” And I thought that was kinda funny and I thought it was kinda sad. Why wouldn’t I be normal? And soon I was asked to talk about this, how I grew up with such a famous father and seemed to be just my own person and kind of created my own life. One time I was giving one of those talks and someone heard it and said “You know, that’s a book!”…

Question 4: You have discussed the concept of “Success” in your book. How would you define “Happiness”? Has becoming very wealthy made your family much happier than before?

Peter: NO! Absolutely not. The money has not made a bit of difference. And I think that’s why I am qualified to write this book and talk about this because I have seen it firsthand that the money has made no difference in my father’s life or in our lives. Now, yes, I’ve been lucky in some ways, that I can afford certain things, but that’s mostly been due to a lot of my own hard work as well as being smart about when to sell the little bit of stock that I had. But the money does not equate to happiness…

Get the full interview via email: Subscribe to this blog by 14th October. You’ll also stand a chance to win a copy of Peter Buffett’s book ‘Life Is What You Make It’ (I’m sponsoring the books for 3 winners!) Sign up now. [Free subscription on your right]

This Blog’s 1st Birthday Bash!


Yes, WorkingWithGrace has officially turned ONE!

A big THANK YOU goes out to all my blog readers, interviewees, supporters and friends. To celebrate, I’m giving out these prizes, worth a total of S$1649.70, courtesy of my awesome sponsors:  *yay*

  • Calvados (Apple Brandy) Rock Candy (worth S$14.90 each) from Sweet Enchantment for 3 lucky winners
  • TCM Authentic Guasa Radiant Skin Treatment (worth S$268 each) from TOUCHE for 3 lucky winners *only for first-time TOUCHE customers aged 21 and above; S’pore citizens or PR*
  • Eric Feng’s newest book ‘Unlock Your Personal Charisma’ *autographed* (worth S$30 each) for 3 lucky winners
  • Dress-up Box  vouchers (worth S$88 each) for 3 lucky winners
  • Udders Ice Cream Vouchers (worth S$20 each) for 3 lucky winners
  • Lee Cooper frames (worth S$129 per pair) from Optic Point for 3 lucky winners

To win a prize of your choice (you can choose up to 3 of the above), take the 1-minute survey here and tell me who you are, what you want to see on this blog and your choice of prizes.

*Note: Prizes will only be awarded to this blog’s subscribers. Subscription is FREE and the subscription field is on your right. Please sign up first before participating.

The list of winners will be announced on October 9th!  

*All winners will also be notified via email/phone to collect their prizes :)

2 thoughts on “Interview with Peter Buffett, author of ‘Life Is What You Make It’ + Blog’s 1st Birthday Bash!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to WorkingWithGrace! :) | Working With Grace

Leave a Reply:

