Interview with Merry Riana

Merry Riana is a Millionaire Entrepreneur, Best-Selling Author & Motivational Speaker. To know more about Merry, visit

1) Why did you choose your current profession as a trainer and entrepreneur and what do you love most about the work you do?

The main reason I decided to go into the training and consultancy business is because of my passion to help other young people to achieve their success. Based on my own experience I know that there are other young people who are probably going through what I went through. They want to achieve success, provide better lives for themselves, their parents and their families but they don’t know how to do that yet. Sadly, without guidance and mentorship, a lot of them will probably just give up on their dreams because they don’t know how to achieve it or think that it is not possible for them. I want to use my story to touch them and show them what is possible and also to groom them into leaders.

My passion is to help people achieve their personal dreams and goals and I feel fulfilled that this has become my business today. When people ask me how I have managed to come this far from the desperate state that I was in after I graduated from University, I tell them about my personal, ultimate success formula: Vision—Action—Passion. Essentially, it is a three-step process that starts with having a Vision, which is to know what your goals are. Next, you will have to commit to taking massive Action that will bring you closer to that Vision. Finally, you must have the Passion to enjoy the entire process in spite of all the obstacles and failures that come your way. Going through these three steps have enabled me to achieve my dreams and the success that I have worked hard for.

 2) What is your mission in Life?

Because of my personal experience I have a strong passion to impact the youth. My aim is to raise up a new generation of successful young people who take charge of their lives, live their dreams, and eventually, contribute back to society. One of the ways we aim to accomplish that is to mentor those youths to achieve financial freedom. I think there is nothing wrong with encouraging young people to live their dreams, as long as they are doing good and contributing back to society. I also believe that the exponential effect of having successful young people sharing their knowledge and wealth can positively change the economic future of the world.

 3) How do you create a work-life balance for yourself?

I usually wake up at 8 a.m. and then I will spend some time with my little girl before going to the office. When I reach the office, it is usually around 10 a.m. and I’ll conduct meetings with my different groups of staff. Once that is done, I will then attend to external appointments, meaning people who have made prior arrangements to meet me in my office. I leave the office at around 4 p.m. and will usually go to deliver my talks in companies that have engaged me as their speaker or trainer. I get home after dinner and spend time with my loved ones. Thereafter, I start work again at night, either writing on my blog or answering e-mails from people who have read my book or visited my websites.

 4) What are some of Life’s lessons that you would want to share with your children as they are growing up?

I have one golden rule in business: Integrity. Whatever the cost, regardless of any implications or consequences, I believe I must uphold this rule without question. Without integrity, I believe there will be no firm foundation for my accomplishments. I can build my business to be as big and strong as I possibly can, but the moment I compromise on my integrity, the whole thing may just crumble down overnight.

I also believe that one of the most important and critical characteristic that an entrepreneur must have is the willingness to continuously learn. I think it is better to learn from other peoples’ experiences than to take lessons from the school of hard knocks. In fact, I always look up to and learn from successful role models who have accomplished their goals. To succeed, we need to learn the best practices from the winners as well as their mistakes, so that we will not commit the same ones they did.

 5) How would you define “Beauty”?

In his 1994 inaugural speech, Nelson Mandela mentioned this quote: “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us most. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

To me personally, to be beautiful means to manifest the glory of God. And as the quote above said, it’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. When we put our best selves forward, our attractive physical features, interesting personalities, good virtues, etc, we are being beautiful. Shine, so that others can shine too!🙂

Grace says: I got to see Merry in action at her Women Extraordinaire preview at my office. The preview so impacted me that I made up my mind to get Lasik surgery and braces done – my mini extreme makeover. I had procrastinated about getting braces done for more than a decade and invented many excuses to explain to curious friends why I did NOT need braces. But looking at Merry, I saw a woman who “glowed”, someone who was not only beautiful, but successful. The training industry is choke-full of charismatic male trainers, so we definitely need more female trainers like Merry, who appears like a breath of fresh air!🙂