Singapore Polytechnic has cast a fashion SPELL on Changi Airport! :D

*Update 20/12/12: This blogpost went on to win a S$200 SPELL shopping voucher.๐Ÿ™‚ To find how how the shopping went, click HERE*

Did you know that Singapore Polytechnic (SP) has a retail store at Changi Airport Terminal 3, whose operations are SOLELY maintained by SP students? I’ve only just found out! Located at Basement 2, the fashion store is named the Singapore Polytechnic Entrepreneurship Living Lab (SPELL) and it offers students the opportunity to experience entrepreneurship first-hand! What a commendable venture!๐Ÿ™‚

Check out this video about SPELL:

I was invited to share in the joy as they celebrated SPELL’s First ANNIVERSARY last Saturday! Thanks to Andy from SengkangBabies.comย for the invite!

Here’s my outfit for the day:

I wouldn’t normally wear this dress out for shopping or dates, but since I’m going to a fashion show, I think it’s alright!๐Ÿ˜€

And here I am with Ms Yvonne Chan, the Director of the Department of Corporate Communications from SP – a lovely lady!๐Ÿ™‚

We were treated to a variety of performances – Rumba by SP Dance Sport, Hip Hop by Soul Ignite and Cha Cha by SP Dance Sport:

*Tried the soft focus mode on the Casio JE10 :D*

Then the main event – the Launch of the VerveAvenue Fashion Collection which was modeled by the SP Student Entrepreneurs.๐Ÿ™‚

Including some photos from their earlier photoshoot as the pictures I took during the fashion show didn’t turn out as well as I’d like:

Can you resist these gorgeous dresses from VerveAvenue? I certainly can’t. I need a wardrobe size upgrade!๐Ÿ˜€

‘Borrowing’ this photo from Melvin’s blog ‘cos it captures the confetti in the air… How pretty!๐Ÿ˜€ …

We were ushered (by a ROBOT!) to SPELL’s boutique after the fashion show…

And my goodness! I fell in love with the clothes and bags and accessories on sale.

Pink Quilted Shoulder bag I love love love !!!

Look at that gorgeous pink!!! And… here’s the best part: It costs just $29! And you don’t pay taxes at Changi Airport too! Ladies, grab your wallets. And gentlemen, you know where to shop for Christmas gifts now *wink wink*

I’m in love with all things PINK. This pair of cool pink specs costs ONLY *gulp* $9.90! Are these prices for real?! They are too wallet-friendly! Oh how I wanna go visit the store again now!!!

More photos for you…๐Ÿ˜€

The first dress that caught my eye when I stepped into the store… photo from Melvin:

The dresses are so pretty! Thankfully they come in S, M, L sizes or I’d really have to ‘suck it in’ or lose some weight.๐Ÿ˜„

The students had collaborated with local fashion designer Michelle Wong to create SPELL’s in-house label VerveAvenue. This collection was inspired by the movie ‘Grey Gardens’ (Have you watched it? I haven’t but I sure want to now)๐Ÿ™‚

Time to guess… WHAT DID I BUY FROM SPELL? *

Is that a bag of accessories? A dress? Handbags?







I bought…

The first dress which caught my eye at the store

The people at SPELL call this the ‘Connie Elegant Maxi Dress’ in Fuchsia. It’s a ‘Free Size’ item that retails at $69. Really good price for such desirable quality. I also got a 30% discount during the Anniversary celebrations and paid only $48.30 (as mentioned earlier, there’s NO GST at the airport!!!)๐Ÿ˜€

Wore it to attend my friend, Andrew Chow’s, book launch and also a Dermalogica product launch๐Ÿ˜€ Got lotsa compliments!!!

No regrets purchasing this dress. I may just get it in another color too.๐Ÿ˜€

Good things are meant to be shared so here are the directions to SPELL @ Changi Airport Terminal 3, Basement 2:

Happy Shopping, folks!

Signing Off

Grace ~ Happily SPELLbound๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “Singapore Polytechnic has cast a fashion SPELL on Changi Airport! :D

  1. hi Grace, so glad you love the Fashion+shopping opportunity.
    I would not now what accessories to buy for my Mrs๐Ÿ™‚
    cheers, Andy

    • Hi Andy, thanks for sending me the invite! Well, I’d say you can bring your missus to the store and hand her your credit card. We women can take care of the rest!๐Ÿ˜€ Muahahaha!!!

  2. Pingback: From 100kg to 55kg – The Interview With Kylie Yuen | Working With Grace

  3. Pingback: My S$199.50 Shopping Spree at SPELL | Working With Grace

  4. Pingback: Bloggers Appreciation Dinner at NYDC Holland Village | Working With Grace

  5. Pingback: Minister of State Ms Sim Ann Officiates The Opening of L’Rez & L’Cafe at Nanyang Polytechnic | Working With Grace

Comments are closed.