My Eye-Opening Visit To The Siglap Homestay For Foreign Students

About a week ago, I set out to discover what it is like for foreign students to live in Singapore. And I concluded that some of them have it pretty good here.

I visited the Siglap Homestay at 653 Changi Road and met the students’ guardian, Sharene:

653 Changi Road

Guess how many people stay in here?

Sharene and students

Besides Sharene and her family, plus two maids, there are 11 students currently staying in this 4-storey house! That explains the amount of laundry out in the front.šŸ˜€

The students are currently paying S$1300 per month for their stay at Siglap Homestay, and this flat fee covers guardianship, 3 meals a day, housekeeping, laundry, etc.

I took a photo of what the students got for lunch:


Seems like wholesome fare! I’d like some chili sauce for the nuggets, please!šŸ˜€

What I appreciated most were the little corners in the house that were so tastefully decorated and exactly what I’d enjoy as a student:

melting clock

lots of greenery


But most interesting of all were the notices pasted on every bedroom door, regarding the Rules and Regulations:


I found at least one rule pretty mind-boggling: meals are not allowed in rooms (to prevent any spillage/mess) but snacks are allowed. Hmm…

In any case, I think the students will definitely develop some measure of discipline from staying here and their parents should feel very confident that their kids are in good hands.

I wish I’d gotten a chance to intimately experience what it is like to live in this homestay… Maybe next time.šŸ˜‰

To view more pictures and retrieve the necessary contact details, click HERE.

Till next time! And Happy Lunar New Year, everybody!šŸ™‚