IKEA elegantly returns meatballs to our dining tables, at 10cents a piece today!

When my sister told me last night that IKEA is selling its meatballs at just 10 Singapore cents a piece today, I didn’t quite believe the news. Seriously? !

And the ads in the papers today proved she was right…

IKEA meatball ad

IKEA Entrance

I love the ad’s humorous take on the horsemeat scandal, by the way! 😀

We reached the restaurant at 10am and the place was almost full, with about 15 people ahead of us in the queue for the food. I also spotted some photogs (not surprising, as I’d expected today’s 10cent meatballs to make the news multiple times)

Aiming for some meatballs

Naturally, I had to order the meatballs (they taste pretty yummy, horsemeat or not) but the organic mushroom pancake was a letdown (it was runny, sticky and unappetizing).

IKEA

But what shocked me most was the number of people seated around me who had brought tupperware and even ziplock bags with them to ‘save’ their meatballs for later. I thought IKEA has a takeaway service?

So, yes, while IKEA has elegantly and very generously returned meatballs to our dining tables at just 10 cents a piece, I wish my fellow Singaporeans would not go to such extremes. Tupperware, really??!!

*Update* Spotted a ‘conversation’ on IKEA Singapore’s Facebook page:

Jon Ong

only horse in IKEA

2 thoughts on “IKEA elegantly returns meatballs to our dining tables, at 10cents a piece today!

    • There were frozen meatballs on sale for about S$15 a pack, I think. Obviously the $1/plate meatballs were a better deal – comes with the sauce and potatoes! 😀

Comments are closed.