Osaka Day Three: Kuromon Market, Kani Doraku, Tombori River Cruise, HEP FIVE Ferris Wheel, Umeda Sky Building, Floating Garden Observatory

We started the day with a visit to Kuromon Market, which was within walking distance from Hotel Hillarys. Then made our way back to Kani Doraku at Dotonburi for lunch.๐Ÿ™‚

Kuromon Market

KitKat for 298 yen, about S$4

Kit Kat Japan

Totoro Osaka

Fortune Cat Osaka

Lunch at Kani Doraku was an uneventful affair. I had expected LONG queues, but no, there were not many customers when we went by. I suppose there would be queues at dinnertime. Having said that, though, there are THREE Kani Doraku outlets along the SAME street so I suppose the crowd is evenly dispersed!๐Ÿ˜€ One of the 3 outlets even has a takeaway counter outside the restaurant so those who don’t want to wait or dine-in can grab a bento or some sushi to take away!๐Ÿ˜‰

We spent a total of 5,400 yen on lunch. I especially liked the crab sushi.

Here’s some of what we ate. Will do another post on Kani Doraku specifically!

Kani Doraku

Kani Doraku Crab Sushi

Kani Doraku Crab Legs

We also went into an arcade called Round 1, and I caught a Hello Kitty plush toy from one of the UFO Catcher machines!๐Ÿ˜€ Hurray!

The first… of many…

Round1 UFO Catcher Hello Kitty

Then we went shopping. I found a Lowry’s Farm outlet and bought a dress (about 20% cheaper than in SG). We also visited Sanrio Gallery (whoo!) and Disney store. All these were around the Shinsaibashi/Dotonburi area.

Osaka Sanrio Gallery

I’d bring this kitty home, but it’s ginormous:

Sanrio Gallery Giant Hello Kitty

Sanrio Gallery

Kitty made of kitties

One of the reasons why Singaporeans like visiting Japan:

KitKat store in Osaka

And guess what, I spotted a number of cute guys giving out free hugs! OMG!

I get to hug cute Japanese guys for free??!!

Free Hugs from cute Osakan guys

But.. the fiance was just next to me so… nothing happened.

After shopping (and no hugging), we headed for the Tombori River Cruise (free of charge if you have the Osaka Unlimited Pass). The Tombori River Cruise is very much like the cruise along the Singapore River – touristy, plus we did not understand a word from the Japanese guide!

Tombori River Cruise ticket

Dinner was at Shakey’s Pizza buffet! For just 990 yen per pax or S$13, we got to eat to our heart’s content – soup, pizza, pasta, meatballs, fruits.๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve heard that the Japanese don’t eat very much at each meal so I was surprised there are such buffet places. Oh wait, perhaps it is BECAUSE they don’t eat much, that it makes sense to open buffet places – Singaporeans would just whack every meatball there is (I know I did). Muahaha.

Shakey's Pizza Osaka

With our Osaka Unlimited Pass, we also went for a ride on the HEP FIVE ferris wheel. I have a fear of heights so I couldn’t wait to get back down on the ground but someone had fun.

KitKat store in Osaka

I Heart You… sometimes๐Ÿ˜€

I Heart You

Because of him, we also went up to the freezing cold heights they call the Floating Garden Observatory at the top of the Umeda Sky Building. It was SUPER COLD with icy cold winds – I felt like I had walked into a giant freezer. And guess what, he said we should walk the entire round (I just wanted to run back into the lift!). But walk we did. And nearly died from pneumonia, I guess.๐Ÿ˜›

Picture taken one second before I became a human popsicle

Floating Garden Observatory

Then we waited to board our Willer Express bus to Tokyo. It was an overnight ride that would take us to Tokyo Station.๐Ÿ™‚ Having survived the local inter-state trains in China, THIS was a piece of cake. Quite comfy with a pram-like cover to keep out the light:

Spooky picture, but I assure you that’s me…

On the Willer Express bus

We paid a total of 22,800 yen in total for 2 Willer Express rides – to Tokyo and back. We shopped, ate and did touristy stuff in the daytime and shuttled between the cities at night. Kinda cool.๐Ÿ˜€ Not advised if you have old folks or young kids with you – it’s a long overnight ride!

And that’s it – the end of our Osaka adventures. Will be blogging about the Tokyo part of the trip next.๐Ÿ™‚ I have to say, though, that I think the people in Osaka are much friendlier than the people in Tokyo – as if you don’t already know that.๐Ÿ˜‰

Click for:

Day One of Osaka

Day Two of Osaka

2 thoughts on “Osaka Day Three: Kuromon Market, Kani Doraku, Tombori River Cruise, HEP FIVE Ferris Wheel, Umeda Sky Building, Floating Garden Observatory

  1. Pingback: Osaka Day One – Rinku Premium Outlets, Hotel Keihan Tenmabashi, Camomilla Milano | Working With Grace

  2. Pingback: Osaka Day Two – Osaka Castle, Momofuku Ando Instant Ramen Museum, Hotel Hillarys, Dotonburi, Shinsaibashi | Working With Grace

Comments are closed.