I think Giordano gets it now.

After my earlier blogpost about how I thought Giordano should learn something about customer service from Jetstar, Giordano sent the same customer service executive to hand-deliver a travel bag (with a S$45 price tag still attached) and a S$50 voucher to my house:

Giordano Singapore

That’s a sweet gesture, no doubt.

I’m just wondering why a Filipino has the name ‘Rachelle Ong’. Didn’t get to ask as I wasn’t home when she came over.😉

I’ve already utilized the S$50 voucher – at the Giordano outlet at Vivocity.

I went on a Tuesday afternoon, and there wasn’t even one customer in the store. A male voice greeted me with a “Welcome” while I was looking at some merchandise, and I turned around to see him checking himself out in the mirror instead of sincerely greeting me.

Giordano’s customer service standards have dropped a lot since the days when I was still a student.

Back then, their service standards were fantastic, I remember.

But now, they engage Filipinos and ‘PRCs’, and haven’t trained them adequately.

I found a notice that Giordano is hiring staff – S$7/hr for part-timers and S$1450 for full-timers. The pay isn’t fantastic, and could thus be a reason why they have difficulty attracting talent.

What I hope you get from this: Do not tolerate bad customer service. Do those companies a favor by telling them something isn’t working (perhaps their staff need more training!) and do those sales assistants a favor (if they are unhappy working in those jobs, they should find other jobs! If they have to be sacked now in order to land their dream job later, then we should assist them!)

Also, don’t simply be a “complaint queen/king”. Give credit where it is due. I try to write one letter to compliment good staff with every letter of complaint I write. If the companies would like to thank me for my feedback by sending me a goodie or two, that’s great. If not, I have at least done my part in letting them know what has worked and what hasn’t.

If you don’t send in your feedback about poor customer service, you will just encounter more of it. And I’m sure that’s not something you desire. At least, I don’t.😉


3 thoughts on “I think Giordano gets it now.

  1. Hi Grace, I agree we have a long way to go in the area of customer service here.
    I don’t feel comfortable complaining, so my strategy is to write a letter of praise whenever I encounter exceptional service.
    There is one checkout lady at our NTUC who can serve about three customers in the time it takes the other ladies to serve one. But the best part is she makes eye contact, smiles and says “good morning, how is your daughter?” (or something similar) every time.
    Another example was the young Malay man who set up my new WiFi modem. He was amazing at solving some computer problems that were actually nothing to do with the WiFi. He did it so so willingly and graciously that I just had to write to his boss, as I did with the NTUC lady.
    I was told by both companies that the worker would be informed of the feedback.
    It makes the boss feel good, it makes the employee feel good and it makes me feel good. And positive reinforcement is better than negative, I think.
    BTW, there are about a gazillion Chinese Filipinos. Marco was one, Aquino was one. Some change their name to sound Filipino, but many do not.

    • Hi Yee Mei,

      Good to know you write letters to compliment good customer service! That does tell bosses what is working and which staff are helping to build up the brand.😉 If you do encounter terrible service one day, though, do let the bosses know too. It doesn’t have to be a nasty letter, just courteous, timely feedback so the bosses know. No paying customer should have to tolerate bad service.🙂

      If I ever get to meet Ms Rachelle Ong, or speak with her over the phone again, I shall indeed ask her. ‘Cos she has a Filipino accent and my dad was also asking me why a Filipino lady came over to deliver the bag and voucher. LOL!

Comments are closed.