Shape Run 2013: My First 10km Race :)

Last year, I ran a 5km race with the fiance. This year, I decided to go for a 10km run alone (he waited in the car, and snoozed. Lucky fella!). In any case, the Shape Run is an all-female run, with only a couple of hunks taking part in the race as pacers *wink wink*πŸ˜€

Those taking part in the 10km race had to be at the flag-off point by 6.30am:

Shape Run flagoff point

My Training Regime

Basically, I have nothing to share with regard to my training for this run. LOL! The Shape Run 2013 was supposed to have taken place many months ago but it was postponed till today because of the haze previously (thanks ah, Indonesia!)πŸ˜› My body was well-conditioned back when the race was supposed to have happened.

I haven’t been training at all recently, not this month at least. After my October 3rd trip to Jakarta, I have been nursing a cold and recently, a bad cough. And this week, I only managed to do one practice run. And I clocked over 1hr 20 minutes.

But today, I managed to complete the race in under an hour – 58 minutes and 38 seconds, to be exact. I’m definitely pleased with the outcome. I just wonder what the timing would have been like had I done enough practice runs.πŸ˜€

Taken after I was done with the race:

After shape run 2013

What I love most about the Shape run has to be the goodie bags and sponsors.πŸ˜€

After my run, I went for a free massage at the Dermal therapy booth *super awesome!*

Dermal Therapy Shape Run 2013

I also visited the Casio booth… and won a BabyG watch worth S$118!!!

Casio Booth Shape Run 2013

Shape Run 2013

There were other sponsors as well, such as BRANDS, DUO, etc. I disliked only one sponsor – Alpheus. They supplied water in small plastic cups to us. After the race, I had expected to receive at least a 250ml bottle of water, but no, it was still the small plastic cups. I spotted a small bottle at the booth but was told that it was only for volunteers. Then I spotted other ladies with 1.5litre Alpheus bottles and requested for one, but was told they were given out by mistake. I was made to feel like I was begging for water. Terrible, terrible service! I hope Alpheus never gets to be a sponsor at any other race event EVER. We run a 10km race and all we can get are puny cups of water after? *sigh*

But I shall choose to focus on the wonderful sponsors: Casio, Dermal Therapy etc.πŸ˜€ I’m definitely very happy with my brand new watch.πŸ˜€

Would I take part in the Shape Run again? Probably not, unless they have a 15km race, for instance. BUT, I would recommend all ladies to take part! It’s actually not that difficult – pick the pacers according to your desired race time (e.g. 55 minutes, 1 hour, 1 hr 20minutes, etc) and just follow them throughout the race! And the goodie bags are awesome! Train with Shape for FREE (there were 3 practice runs this year, with pacers too!) and receive goodie bags too!

Thank you, Shape Singapore!πŸ˜€

Also, lots of thanks to my energy bar sponsor, Stephen James Organics / Orevoworld. I ate two of the mini bars before the race, and I believe they helped keep my energy levels high, as they usually do.πŸ˜€ And my trainers from Quantum FitnessΒ also did their best in ensuring I stay fit. I can now move on to the next challenge!

I’ll be on the look out for a 15km race to join next year! Wheee!~πŸ˜€