Food Tasting at Nanyang Polytechnic’s student-run restaurant L’Rez

I was present when Minister of State, Ms Sim Ann, officiated the opening of L’Rez. (Read the blogpost here)

Then I went back again recently to try the food served at the restaurant. My honest opinion: If I had not already known that the food was prepared and served by students, I would have thought it is just like any other restaurant in town!

The whole place looks pretty grand as well:

Nanyang Polytechnic L'Rez restaurant

I’ve been told that the items on the menu aren’t fixed (they get changed probably every month) so my recommendations may not be available when you visit. But take it from me that the food’s really quite good!

Here’s what I had last Friday:

The Set Menu with the ‘Spiced Prawn and Citrus Salad‘ starter

Nanyang Polytechnic L'Rez Spiced Prawn and Citrus Salad

The Verdict: Absolutely delicious. Better than many salads I’ve eaten at other restaurants!

The main: ‘Seared Fillet of Sea Bass with Papaya Sauce‘, served with potato purée, summer squash and courgette

Nanyang Polytechnic L'Rez Seared Fillet of Sea Bass with Papaya Sauce

The Verdict: Very yummy and tender sea bass. I loved everything that’s on the plate!

Dessert Of The Day: Lemon Meringue Pie

Nanyang Polytechnic L'Rez Lemon Meringue Pie

The Verdict: The only let-down of the meal. It’s super sour lemon meringue. I would have loved a warm brownie with ice cream instead. There’s nothing quite like sweet dessert to end a meal well. 🙂

This set lunch also comes with your choice of coffee or tea. And it’s all for the very low price of S$12 nett! (@_@) NYP staff and students get to enjoy all this for just S$10 nett! I’m absolutely going back to dine here again. It’s totally worth the trip. But, as you’d probably have guessed, you have to make your reservation wayyyy in advance as the restaurant is almost always fully booked!

L’Rez: Open to public 11.30am to 2.30pm from Mon to Fri.

Reservations: 6451 4384 / L-Rez@nyp.edu.sg

I had only one piece of feedback (apart from the dessert) for the students, when I was given the feedback form: Pay attention to what you take away from the table, in terms of cutlery. The plate and cutlery were removed after I was done with the salad, and the knife wasn’t replaced when I was served the main dish.

If the wait staff at a restaurant can anticipate what the diner requires before he/she even thinks about asking for it, the restaurant gets top marks!

I am by no means complaining. I know this is student-run and the meals are affordably priced and taste great. Being able to anticipate diners’ needs will just make L’Rez the restaurant that other restaurants have to come learn from. 😀

*Update* Getting to L’Rez:

It’s on Level 3 of Block F and the nearest carpark is carpark 11.

For walking directions from the nearest MRT station (yio chu kang) -> Take the left exit out of the station and continue walking straight till you reach NYP (barely a 5min walk away).

Then head on in and take the escalator up. When given a choice of escalators at the ‘atrium’, choose the one on the left and follow the signs all the way to Block F. Take the lift up to level 3, and tah dah, you’ll be at L’Rez. 🙂

Bon appetit!

2 thoughts on “Food Tasting at Nanyang Polytechnic’s student-run restaurant L’Rez

  1. Hi Grace, since you are into giving feedback a la NTU’s email invite to you, I hope you won’t mind me suggesting that you should have given L’Rez full address, not just Nanyang Polytechnic to help would be diners decide if they want to make the trip. Sure, I can google the addie but better that you provide the info, seamlessly, no? BTW, I love lemon meringue, the more sour the better! :))

    • Hi ‘auntielucia’,

      My bad! Sorry! Forgot about inserting the full address. 😀 It’s Level 3 of Blk F and the nearest carpark is carpark 11.

      For walking directions from the nearest MRT station (yio chu kang) -> Take the left exit out of the station and continue walking straight till you reach NYP (barely a 5min walk away).

      Then head on in and take the escalator up. When given a choice of escalators at the ‘atrium’, choose the one on the left and follow the signs all the way to Block F. Take the lift up to level 3, and tah dah, you’ll be at L’Rez. 🙂

      The food is definitely worth the walk. (Psst, don’t wear high heels. You can thank me later.)

Comments are closed.