Food Reviews: Spicy Thai Thai Cafe & NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate

Located at Blk 115 of Aljunied Avenue 2 is Spicy Thai – Thai Cafe. I used to frequent this area when I was a kid because my parents go to the church just around the corner every Sunday.🙂

The cafe (though it’s more like a restaurant) is housed in a nondescript building, and not exactly very near to any MRT station, but if you love Thai food, you’ll probably like what is served here.

Here’s what I tried at the food tasting session:

BBQ Chicken Wing (4pc $6, 6pc $9), BBQ Pork Neck $10, Stir-fry Baby Kailan with Pork Belly $10, fried fish that is not in the menu😀

The chicken wings and BBQ pork neck are a ‘must try’!😀

Spicy Thai Thai Cafe

Prawn Cake $2/pc, Stir-fry Phad Thai with Seafood $6:

Spicy Thai Thai Cafe

Hommok Thai Style Otak $15

I love the Otak, and especially the presentation (otak served in coconut husk – what a pleasant surprise!)

Spicy Thai Thai Cafe

Spicy Thai Thai Cafe

Desserts: Sticky Glutinous Rice with Mango $6, Thai Red Ruby $3.50, Lemongrass Jelly with Aloe Vera Cubes & Calamansi $1.50

The desserts here are REALLY, REALLY GOOD! Even if you’re stuffed from the meal (like I was), you will STILL want to finish all the dessert!

Spicy Thai Thai Cafe

Spicy Thai – Thai Cafe: Blk 115, Aljunied Ave 2, #01-35



NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate

I popped by NineThirty previously, before an ice-cream coffee workshop with Haagen-Dazs / illy, and could pat myself on the back after for making such an awesome decision! The food here is delicious, save for one salad. And the 1-for-1 weekday lunch promotion is just too good to be true! For $30++, select 2 mains and either a soup or salad together with each main. [Only at the Esplanade outlet, I believe!]

The Salads:

Warmed Sio Bak Salad: Pan seared pork belly, grilled watermelon, wild rocket, Thai chilli dressing $12

*The only disappointment here. It came with TOO MUCH salt on top! I had to spit out what I put into my mouth. The staff later got most of the salt out, I believe, but the dish was just off by then.

NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate

Tandoori Chicken Salad: Char-grilled tandoori chicken, green apples, cherry tomatoes, avocado, mesculan salad $12

Very yummy! Definitely order this!

NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate


Satay Babi: Char-grilled pork belly, peanut sauce, pineapple salsa, served with buttered rice $20

Unbelievably good! I’m not going to say more. You just have to try this!

NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate

Fish & Chips: truffle infused dory fish & truffle fries $18

One of the best fish & chips I’ve had in SG so far!🙂

NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate

With the 1-for-1 promo going on till end of this year, I think I’ll be heading back many more times.😀

NineThirty by Awfully Chocolate, #02-14, Esplanade, 8 Raffles Avenue.

6336 9563