938LIVE Interview: 4 Dec 2013

So… I got interviewed on 938LIVE yet again. My 3rd time there in just over 3 years of blogging!πŸ˜€

Cozy enough to take a selfie in the studioπŸ˜€

938LIVEI spoke with DJ Daphne Lim about Blogging and also about my book ‘Blogging For A Living’. Not bothering with podcasts or recordings since the program has an encore broadcast on Thurs at 2pm.πŸ˜€

Here are some of the questions sent to me before the interview. We obviously didn’t keep to the list and some new questions were added on the spot. (@_@)

Questions edited for clarity:

1) What is the main source of income for your blog?

Advertorials, which are paid, full-length blogposts.

I am an accidental full-time blogger. I started this blog as my excuse to interview famous people and find out their secrets to success. My blog became my platform for securing these interviews.

When people started asking me to interview them, I did so and charged a fee. That’s how it began!

2) A good blog would be raking in $$?

A good blog can be raking in no money at all.πŸ˜€

The term “good” itself is highly subjective.

A blog with a significant amount of traffic coupled with a blogger open to advertising revenue, should bring in a decent sum of money each month.

Having said that, some bloggers simply do not want to monetize their popular blogs. And other bloggers want to make money out of their not-very-popular-yet blogs.

3) How stable is the advertising income?

It definitely is *NOT* stable at all.

4) How much time do you spend on the blog (is it equivalent to the 9-5)?

Of course not. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have left my corporate job, which paid me $114,000 (annual income), where I worked all week and had no life.

I work less than 4 hours a week on my blog. Probably 3 hours.

5) Is there an equivalent occupation that the blogger is usurping?

Not that I can think of. Most bloggers in Singapore are kind and friendly. *wink wink*πŸ˜€

6) How sustainable is an occupation like this is, in the long-run, with the development of technology?

I’m no fortune teller. I do not know if there will still be blogs 2 years down the road. But people who love social media, who love expressing their thoughts and ideas, will move with the times, and leverage on technology, to constantly invent and reinvent themselves.

7) Blogs are a dime a dozen, how do you make sure yours is seen, heard of, and shared?

By being featured on worthy programs like this one.πŸ˜€

8) Is anyone who wants to start a blog NOW just too late in the game?

Of course not. Great, new ideas are always welcome.

9) UI and Design and flow is something quite different from creating content, and giving valuable opinions, is it necessary to hire a professional to handle that for you?

I don’t run a professional website. I do not have the expertise nor the inclination. Still, it is always wise to outsource tasks which you cannot perform as well as others.

I handle most things myself – from photography, to editing, to handling advertisers’ queries.

10) *One of those extra questions* Something along the lines of “The blogosphere is already saturated with blogs. Can I possibly find a niche to blog about?

Certainly! Despite the millions of books already published, I could still publish one more – ‘Blogging For A Living’. Many bloggers are unwilling to share their secrets to success, so I found that there would be demand for such a book.πŸ™‚ You can definitely find a great idea for a new blog!

Final words: Blogging is not the easiest thing to do. But it’s a lot of fun for me. I enjoy blogging. Hence, as long as I am able to, I will blog.πŸ™‚

If you have a question, or if you want to attend a blogging workshop, drop me an email at gracewwg [at] gmail [dot] com.

To Your Blogging Success,

Grace TanπŸ™‚