Why I Believe Some World Ventures Members Are Wasting Their Time

[Read my 2 earlier posts about WV here: 5 Reasons For Not Joining, Scam Or Not]

World Ventures

I recently received THREE comments from one person who landed on my blog – the first comment was super long, and as if that wasn’t enough, he went on to leave two more. I have decided to publish the first one, since I found it hilarious, so here goes:

Comment from “jb” (jbog24books@gmail.com, IP Address: 71.162.6.167)

“Bottom line, this guy who started this blog will never get the concept of Fun, Freedom, and Fulfillment. It’s not worth the time. He does not understand the concept of networking with other’s, being around positive people, and making new friends. He stated he liked to travel with a buddy or girlfriend,,,,, you don’t know what you don’t know…. The fact the he said he does not like to take a luxury holiday make me question him anyway. I’m sure his girlfriend or whomever would feel different. He said saving money does not interest him either, think about what you are saying that will warrant creditability. You are already in the travel business anyway when you research your own travel and book it. Does it not make sense to book your own vacations and get credit for it? Honestly, this is not about WV, it’s about a person that does not enjoy much in life. I wish you well. Let me add one more thing, don’t go by the opinion of others who don’t know what they are talking or writing about. Ernst and Young is a Professional and Global Organization who did the research for you. They pay attorneys a lot of money to find fault in companies and WV Founder’s were considered for entrepreneurs of the year. (FACT) Also, WV is an award winning company that has partnered with wonderful organizations like Big Brothers and d Sister’s, and The Boy’s Club of America. (Fact). The concept of direct sales is the same as real estate. Do you think there is something wrong with being a real estate agent? Look at it this way, A broker owns a firm and employ’s agents. These agents work independently and each agent can add their own agents. The broker gets to leverage on the agent because he owns the firm. He does not hold them back to make as much money as they want and they all work together for the success of the firm. It’s called a team effort. Wealth Building is a team sport. (FACT) The success stories are endless and companies and are still around like Mary Kay, Amway, Keller Williams (Real Estate) and numerous others have proven that. It’s all of what you make of it. Go luck in whatever you all do, just do something.”

I’ll just overlook the less-than-perfect English in the comment for now. But…

1) “Bottom line, this guy who started this blog will never get the concept of Fun, Freedom, and Fulfillment. It’s not worth the time.”

Hey pal, I’m not a dude. I have pictures of me plastered all over this blog, and if THAT is not clue enough… how about the name of this blog, huh? *shrugs* And if you’re taking time out of having fun to comment on my blog, then perhaps it is logical for me to assume that YOU are not having much fun, eh? I value my freedom too much. Which is why I refuse to sign up with WV and have them dictate that I have to rope in 4 friends, attend training and whatever nonsense. Fulfillment? That’s what this blog is for – helping others IS kinda fulfilling. 😛

2) “He does not understand the concept of networking with other’s, being around positive people, and making new friends. He stated he liked to travel with a buddy or girlfriend,,,,, you don’t know what you don’t know…. The fact the he said he does not like to take a luxury holiday make me question him anyway. I’m sure his girlfriend or whomever would feel different.”

Well, pardon me, I go to enough networking sessions when I am NOT on holiday, that I would REALLY prefer to go on holidays in peace and NOT have to network. I never said I wouldn’t like a “luxury holiday”, don’t be silly. I LOVE the idea. I just don’t want to go for that supposedly luxurious holiday with people waving blue banners. Is that so hard to understand? And if what you say is true, that “you don’t know what you don’t know”, how could you POSSIBLY know whether my bf wants to travel with YOU?! (His answer is NO, by the way) 😛

3) “He said saving money does not interest him either, think about what you are saying that will warrant creditability. You are already in the travel business anyway when you research your own travel and book it. Does it not make sense to book your own vacations and get credit for it? Honestly, this is not about WV, it’s about a person that does not enjoy much in life. I wish you well.”

Omg, I already stated that WV makes me spend MORE on holidays, and that is why I refuse to join, because it’s crazy to do so. Saving money DOES make me extremely happy, which is why I refuse to imagine I have money to burn by signing up with WV. Now, I can’t tolerate it anymore, so I have to say that I hope you get an English teacher soon, and learn to read and write well. I wish you well too.

By the way, I have signed up with agoda.com and earn “credits” for reviewing my hotel stays, and get discounts off my next room booking. I also book flights when there are promotions. I do like saving money. So don’t make baseless accusations, please.

4) “Let me add one more thing, don’t go by the opinion of others who don’t know what they are talking or writing about. Ernst and Young is a Professional and Global Organization who did the research for you. They pay attorneys a lot of money to find fault in companies and WV Founder’s were considered for entrepreneurs of the year. (FACT) Also, WV is an award winning company that has partnered with wonderful organizations like Big Brothers and d Sister’s, and The Boy’s Club of America. (Fact).”

I wish it was just ONE more thing. But anyhow…

Correct me if I am wrong, I don’t think WV has won any E&Y awards. So pray tell, what sort of awards has your “award winning company” ACTUALLY WON?

I think it is GREAT that WV is giving back to society in certain ways. I respect that. Still, it doesn’t mean I want to join WV. There are SO MANY organizations with links to charities. Do I join all of them or take that their involvement naturally means they are aboveboard in all their dealings?

5) “The concept of direct sales is the same as real estate. Do you think there is something wrong with being a real estate agent? Look at it this way, A broker owns a firm and employ’s agents. These agents work independently and each agent can add their own agents. The broker gets to leverage on the agent because he owns the firm. He does not hold them back to make as much money as they want and they all work together for the success of the firm. It’s called a team effort. Wealth Building is a team sport. (FACT)”

What a flawed comparison. I HAVE been a real estate agent before. And I was NOT asked to pay a certain sum of money which would only be given back to me if I recruit 4 new agents.

6) “The success stories are endless and companies and are still around like Mary Kay, Amway, Keller Williams (Real Estate) and numerous others have proven that. It’s all of what you make of it. Go luck in whatever you all do, just do something.”

I think it’s sad that you need to use OTHER, UNRELATED companies to make it seem as though WV is awesome. Please provide WV success stories, if possible, especially your own (though I don’t think you have one to share, or you would have included it somehow).

Good luck in whatever YOU do. Just don’t run out of friends because you pester them to join in your “team sport” of making money (from them).

~

I often wonder what it would feel like to be a WV member who is making good money from WV and enjoying my Dream Trips or whatever. Would I have the time to comment on a blogpost written by someone who does not want to join WV?

Nope.

I’d be planning my next holiday and laughing at the “guy” who started the blog. Poor fella, he’s totally missing out. But it’s ok since he doesn’t want something good placed in front of him.

Another scenario: If I am NOT making good money from WV, and I have paid WV money which I will not be able to recoup unless I manage to convince 4 friends to join, and my friends refuse to join (after reading that dude’s blogposts), would I be upset at the guy who started the blog?

Oh yes, I’d leave him a comment, with ill-supported “facts”, and tell him to buzz off for he knows nothing.

~

People, don’t waste your time.

Granted. It might be a legitimate MLM company, but only those at the top rungs (the tiny majority) will make good money, drive around in flashy cars, and flaunt their own “success stories”. The rest of the WV members (you, you and you) will be their stepping stones to success, and what they leverage on.

Why not set up your own business? Maybe that cafe or bookstore you have always dreamed of owning?

Why not donate to charity, out of your own pocket? Why the need to join an organization just because it seems to be a supporter of charitable causes?

Why not go on holidays with people you truly love, instead of making every holiday seem like work, with the need to netWORK?

35 thoughts on “Why I Believe Some World Ventures Members Are Wasting Their Time

  1. Pingback: 5 Reasons Why I Refuse To Join World Ventures | Working With Grace

  2. Pingback: World Ventures: Scam Or Not… | Working With Grace

  3. Haha Grace tis is so true abt WV lol
    1) I have frds who pester me and their frds to join until they unfriend them
    2) In such organization the top will earn as the bottom fool con’t to help them generate $$$ 😛
    3) The guy seem like wan to con u until he running out of idea to suppport his story lol

    • Hey Desmond,

      In fact, I started blogging about WV because I was sick and tired of having people pester me to join WV. Yes, I believe such people deserve to be “unfriend-ed”. 😀

      Too bad for this guy… I am not CON-vinced. 😀

    • Why don’t y’all put your money where your mouth is. Go on a trip and then if you don’t like it get your money back and get out. Somebody showed me this article and I laughed because you are clueless and mislead. WV prices blows the others away. We did win best Travel Club in the World. We just don’t spend millions advertising. Do your real homework on research and you will see you are wrong. What’s cool is I travel and I’m going for half of what you pay.

    • Hi David, I don’t need to go on a trip to know I won’t like it. I don’t wish to travel with the blue banner gang. And I don’t think getting my money back will be a piece of cake.

      In one of my comments on this particular post, https://workingwithgrace.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/threatened-by-a-world-ventures-rep/, I offer WV reps the opportunity to enlighten us…

      “I am a fair person. I’m offering sensible WV reps the opportunity to do a guest blogpost right here. Just prove:

      (1) That WV has a substantial and sustainable source of income, other than its membership fees

      (2) That the majority of reps (80% or more) have broken even and made money within their first 2 years of joining and/or that 80% or more have enjoyed overseas trips at prices they would not get on their own, and did not have to travel in a WV-group, ie. with just their friends and family.

      (3) That this business is sustainable – if all the people in SG who are willing to join WV have ALREADY joined, what happens? Do reps have to make trips overseas to get signups and downlines and commissions?

      (4) That there are testimonials from highly-regarded and credible individuals ABOUT WV, and not about any other network marketing company. Testimonials from non-A-list artistes like Cynthia Koh are not credible, because she does not have the product endorsements like other artistes have, and she also has more time to travel, so monetizing her fanbase is the way to go, apparently.

      I hope you can see how I am being extremely fair here. Just send me the proof (my email is in the contact tab above), show me that your information is reliable and that your sources are verifiable, and I will upload a blogpost about the WV stand on things. Fair enough?”

      NO WP rep has gotten back to me. WHY? They don’t like putting their money where their mouth is?

  4. holla.. i am from Indonesia.. I have just joined for around two weeks.. i have been attending their BOPs, Travel Party and training… At first this is very appealing but i dont know why, I started to feel really weird with these people. Especially when i see them doing the closing deal.. I feel something is not correct,
    After reading your blog, Now I hesitate.. I am in dilemma. Somehow i didnt even know i ended up signing in….Damn! Now, I dont know what i do is correct or not..and I feel guilty since one of my cousins has joined because of this. I still do not know what to do.. I will see what will happen next…Thankyou for your information in this blog..thankyou so much….

  5. Hi Grace, thanks for your writings about WV. Yesterday alone I was pretty terrified that 3 persons seperately try to con-vince me into joining WV. I have to say that it’s pretty alluring to be on a trip for a cheap price. But then I realized, it’s not about the trip, it’s about making money out of the membership fee and the monthly fees people have to pay. And I think if my friend signed me up forcedfully then I will have to willingly participate and try to lure in at least 4 friends (maybe with the cost of losing their friendship) so that I don’t have to pay the monthly fee of 60$. And for those people who are making good money out of WV, good for you, just please don’t include us in the pyramid.

    • Hi juliustio, good that you didn’t get con-vinced to join. 🙂 It’s great to be making good money, but if it happens at the cost of losing friends, I think it’s not worth it.

  6. Thanks Grace..

    Anyway, I have settled the cancellation of my membership account and also my cousin’s.
    Feel relieved in a way even i still feel stupid to spend such amount of money for ambiguous con-vinced joining.. I still felt weird i said yes to it at first. Nevermind the money, at least I have freaking learned my lesson well…

  7. Wow. I just realized got part 2 and 3 of your post on WV. Thanks to a friend who posted the link on FB.

    Haha. I like this part:
    “I often wonder what it would feel like to be a WV member who is making good money from WV and enjoying my Dream Trips or whatever. Would I have the time to comment on a blogpost written by someone who does not want to join WV?

    Nope.”

    • Hey Gerard, it’s the truth. If I’m SO HAPPY enjoying my one-in-a-million-too-fantabulous-for-words Dream Trips, I wouldn’t be paying even one second of attention to some blogger dissing WV. 😀

      You know what… when I get more “interesting” comments from WV’s ARDENT FANS, there might be a part 4 or 5 blogpost. 😀

  8. Pingback: World Ventures: EPIC FAIL | Working With Grace

  9. Pingback: Threatened By A World Ventures Rep! | Working With Grace

  10. “Correct me if I am wrong, I don’t think WV has won any E&Y awards. So pray tell, what sort of awards has your ‘award winning company’ ACTUALLY WON?”

    How about “Best Travel Booking Website” two years in a row (2012 and 2013), beating out Orbitz, Kayak, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, and every other travel booking site? WorldVentures’ booking engine is called Rovia. Google it.

    Also World Travel Awards named WV’s DreamTrips travel club “World’s Leading Travel Club 2013”, and named Rovia “North America’s Leading Travel Agency,” also for 2013.

    And no, they didn’t WIN the E&Y award. The founders were named finalists for their most prestigious award, Entrepreneur of the Year, after doing a three year audit of the company.

    You can spin this any way you want, but WorldVentures is a world class company and offers the best prices on vacation packages, hotels, car rentals, and flights. There are no others that come close. The entire travel industry seems to be in thunderous agreement, so your opinion on this blog isn’t going to convince anyone otherwise.

    • Hey Donovan,

      These awards you have mentioned have a voting process. With so many WV members, it is hard not to self-nominate and win, eh? 😉 http://www.worldtravelawards.com/how-it-works

      Fact is, I sat down with a WV rep, he used his Rovia login to “prove” to me that my holiday flight would be cheaper via Rovia. What happened next: the airfares from the full-service airline I picked was much cheaper than what Rovia offered. Otherwise I might have signed up with WV on the spot.

  11. I just joined and now I fear that I have made a big mistake I am a hard working single mom is there any way to get your money back if its just been two days

  12. Hi grace. I’m a student who happen to be roped in by a friend where her whole family is into this scheme. I went to one of the seminars and I found it to be like a cult and was super disturbed. Where got free lunch in this world? Lucky I did some researched and happen to see your blog! Thumbs up to the funny and witty comments you wrote to the mean person!. Even as a student, their deals are quite enticing, however the catch was when they told me not to tell my parents if I were to join? Wth. What is the company doing that is so wrong that I can’t tell my parents? Even as a student, I know that getting a ETHICAL job means I wouldn’t have to fork out my own money. What more, 50 plus dollars every month. I can’t even afford to support myself and my school fees. I don’t have time to commit to these nonsense like trainings and what not. There was once I went to their event at zouk. My another friend who was under them, asked me to bring as much friends as possible. I manage to bring about 6 ppl. This ‘friend’ secretly pulled me to one corner and told me to get them to join WV. Wth la. You don’t want friendship I still do okay! In the end, I just ignored all their messages and calls. The ‘friend’ is always posting status on fb like ” I feel very sad when I see people saying they want to travel the world but have no money etc. Now we are offering you an option but you said no” with that very irritating hash tag #youshouldbehere #butyousaidno #justsaying
    ugh. Super irritated. Sad then sad la. Not my problem. Haha. Anyway Thanks for reading this comment! Hope everyone can know that you have the right to say no, and there are many other decent ways to go about travelling the world! Best regards.

  13. Hi Grace,

    Thanks for the information regarding WV!
    It is definitely helpful in doing my own research regarding WV, haha.
    I love your work, a job well done!

    P.S. Is it possible to add you on Facebook and befriend you? And also I would love to hear your opinions regarding agoda.com
    I know it is a selfish request coming from my side, hence I hope that it does not offend you in anyway. (If it does, I am truly sorry about it!)

    Thank you,
    Jun Hao.

    • Hello Jun Hao,

      Join my FB page here: https://www.facebook.com/thegracetan

      My thoughts on agoda.com: It helps me save money, is fuss-free, and I earn points for reviewing my hotel stays and these points can be used to offset the booking fee for my next hotel stay. If you have a DBS or POSB credit card in Singapore, get a further 7% discount by booking via the DBS-agoda promo site: http://www.agoda.com/en-sg/dbssg?

      With agoda, I have never felt a need for WV. I save money without ever having to pay membership fees.

  14. Next time just let them read this

    – According to WorldVentures official documents, “73.7 percent of reps fail to earn a commission and only .1 percent earn a yearly income above the poverty level. The average rep earns $325 in a year. That doesn’t account for the price of joining or the cost of training events.”

    scribd.com/doc/28453032/World-Ventures-Income-Disclosure-2009
    twenty-somethingtravel.com/2013/07/worldventures-this-is-not-the-way-to-travel-the-world

  15. i’ve said a few things on here regarding about wv but NONE has been allowed to be published by you although i fully understand that you have all the right whether to publish it or not since this is your domain but i do wonder why…

    if you so hell-bent on saving people from the lure of evil wv and honest about your crusade against this evil and bogus company, why not publish what i’ve written?

    or is my feeling that you’ve found perfect “enemy” to further promote your blog and using those pesky and untactful, young over-eager members of wv as your scape goat to further your agenda, is actually true?

    i hope not.

    p/s Mr William, thanks for your straight honest write-up and i believe we shouldn’t really waste time with her here. shes already a hugely popular blogger, featured in Sunday Times and hell to those who dare and foolish enough to annoy her with a few emails and what-not.

    • There are a few reasons why I do not publish some comments. Please check which are applicable to your comments:

      1) Too many comments, too often, i.e. spam
      2) Rude and annoying comments
      3) Personal attacks / insults
      4) Nothing to add to the conversation / debate. Just hot air.
      5) Comments left anonymously.

      I’m publishing THIS comment of yours so you can figure out why I’ll not publish any more of your comments.

  16. Thank God i did research the morning before i thought about joining later that same day. I live in Jamaica W.I and mostly Americans were in the videos on the dreamtrips holding “you should be here” flags than Jamaicans.

  17. hi grace,

    After reading tons of comments here n there, well…i m on the way out WV.. reasons was i cant even afford time to attend almost everyweekday gathering or seminar and approaching good friends of mine to join WV in order to make income for myself look out of my way….Thks Grace, got a lots of “advises” from yr blog…cheers

  18. Truth: Whenever you purchase a product or service you are in reality increasing someone’s income. What is wrong with buying goods and services from someone you know? Just a thought.

    • Nothing wrong with buying something from someone you know and LIKE. Something is wrong when you are forced to buy something from someone you know and yet DON’T LIKE or feel uncomfortable dealing with.

    • LOL. You do realize the irony that you’re not on a holiday, and are in fact commenting on my blogpost, yeah? 😉 Who gives a shit about this program? Not me.

  19. Hi Grace,

    Eloquently written. This and the others. I find it hilarious how they’re bashing you for expressing your views, which are most certainly far more reasonable than anyone in wv. Well, it is the internet after all. haha.

    I dont think this is a scam, but its definitely perched precariously on the cliff of legality. Its something in between multi-level marketing and a pyramid scheme. I experienced their ambush marketing techniques first hand, and thankfully I was not naive to give away my signature just like that. They even had the audacity to tell me not to talk to other people about the scheme, and even not to do any research on my own, because they know best apparently. How outrageous!

    They also seem to emphasize on those who had actually made it big, while completely ignoring the 70% of world venture members who have not made a profit at all. The way they insist on me joining is both scary and insufferably irritating at the same time. Its like they’re possessed by something, but still have shreds of reason in their being, albeit buried deep inside somewhere.

    So yes, please keep up the good work. When I looked it up on Google, your blog was among the top few results, and you definitely are a voice of reason. Hopefully people will read your blog before jumping on the wv bandwagon.

    Kaiser

  20. Hello Grace.
    I was just dragged into one of these ritual initiations, and I obviously said NO handsdown, and it’s funny how they force you to contribute by saying “Don’t go to school, and quit your job. This is the best choice for your future, just give us right now 280 dls and wr will call you back maybe in a month to come back”. Like wow, you could tell all the frustration in most of the “team members” by watching the introductory video and not having all that money or a pre-qualified for a bwm. They also drove three fancy cars just to show us they are real not owned (at least not them). In basic terms, I was just internally laughing on how other people have to depend in others in order to show success……
    I can’t keep on thinking what to reply is to much of a joke for me. Seriously there are many ways to make your future better, weather you have millions or not, a Sentra or BMW, or just having enough money to get a wonderful trip to the fields and admire farms in Kentucky instead of getting VIP seats to a Football game.

Comments are closed.