Royston Wee Does Singapore Proud At The UFC (Vs Dave “Scarecrow” Galera)

Dave Galera’s illegal kick and Royston Wee’s tough chin have made it to the UFC history books.πŸ˜€ I didn’t catch the fight yesterday but watching the full video seems equally nerve-wracking (what with instant replays and all!)

Watch the full video here:

I was very amused to see Stephanie Sun in the video (at about the 11 minute mark, after the conclusion of the first round). Never imagined the UFC would be her thing.πŸ˜€

Blowing a kiss to the camera:

Stephanie Sun at the UFC

The illegal kick in round 3 looked as though it’d snap an ordinary person’s neck (ok, maybe just mine). I’m glad Royston won. An unprofessional fighter doesn’t deserve the honor – illegal kick aside, be a man and let your opponent adjust his shorts when he has to, right? Tsk tsk.

And for the main event of UFC Fight Night Singapore – Lim Hyun Gyu vs Tarec Saffiedine. Watch the full video here:

I was watching the video when I heard something along the lines of “You cannot chase Lim too aggressively, or he’ll catch you and put your lights out”. I don’t know why but that phrase “put your lights out” really tickled me!πŸ˜€

I’d call this Too Close For Comfort:

UFC Tarec vs Lim

I’d have to say, though, that Royston and Dave had more intimate moments on the ground. Most of the time, Lim and Tarec fought on their feet. And Tarec really battered Lim’s left leg with kicks.

Lim’s purplish thigh *OUCH*

UFC Lim vs Tarec

Pun not intended, but it really beats me as to why men (and some women) like, or rather, participate in such ‘close contact’ sports. I don’t fancy having my neck caught under someone’s sweaty armpit or have someone “put my lights out”. I don’t get it. Though I have to admit that it makes for pretty exciting entertainment.πŸ˜€