World Ventures: Dream Trips?

A number of people think I am waging war on World Ventures because I’ve already written 5 posts on World Ventures since 2013. I started off with ‘5 Reasons Why I Refuse To Join World Ventures’ and just last night, wrote about ‘5 More Reasons Why I Refuse To Join World Ventures’. Along the way, I’ve had existing WV members leave me comments on how they want to quit but are ‘stuck’, and more importantly, comments from WV members who are pissed off by my blogposts. And I pick some of these comments to blog about, simply because I find their arguments hold no weight at all, and are actually, quite hilarious.

[Read one here, and another here]

And here’s a third, of course…

From ‘zere’, email: zerenoa@hotmail.com, IP: 175.143.185.224

“Grace, everything is all about network, dont be naive..what you are doing now is also networking in the internet, if you didn’t write up interesting topic, no one would have found out your blog, thus no network or traffic flows into your blog. Making a blog popular seriously can make a blogger rich by getting paid by writing review on some products / services. Its all the same, whether it is membership in a Golf club or membership in a travel club, they all require member to pay fees to enjoy privileges. This is to improve loyalty of their customers, so that they don’t switch brand (to other travel company), and at the same time, with the enormous number of members they have, they gain more bargain power with hotels and so on…The only difference is they do it in MLM way to reward their members by expanding their own network. By leveraging on the power of their member’s network, they saved a lot of adverts cost, staff cost (sales person, operator etc), saving cost means cheaper retail price for the members.

If you don’t like to play Golf, don’t join that is it, same like a travel club, but please stop accusing a company with false negative article without researching what is pyramid scam, what is MLM and what is business etc. In our life, I’m sure we have been asked many times by insurance friends or agents to sign up an insurance (insurance is also MLM in case if you didn’t know), but if we don’t need that, just reject and move on. Cheers~”

My Reply (in bold font)

“Grace, everything is all about network, dont be naive..what you are doing now is also networking in the internet, if you didn’t write up interesting topic, no one would have found out your blog, thus no network or traffic flows into your blog. Making a blog popular seriously can make a blogger rich by getting paid by writing review on some products / services.”

This may come as a surprise to you, but I have never found World Ventures an “interesting topic” to blog about. I would really much rather watch paint dry than blog about you guys. My first blogpost came about only because I was HARASSED by people into joining WV, with horrible cut-and-paste emails. And by the way, I don’t just single you WV guys out. ANYONE who sends me pesky and/or rude emails gets blogged about. Example here

So, zere, don’t be naive, and self-obsessed. And writing about you guys does not make my blog popular. I will not get an award for “Most Anti-WV Blogger” Or “Best Anti-WV Blogposts Ever”. I admit that I am amused most of the time by how some people sound like members of a cult, who totally lose all sense of what’s right and what’s wrong, who just repeatedly spout the nonsense they have been taught in training sessions, and can no longer think for themselves anymore EVEN WHEN THE FACTS ARE RIGHT BEFORE THEM.

I am trying to protect those who don’t know that WV requires members to rope in 4 other friends. So I am most probably fighting a losing battle. One blogger vs The Blue Banner Gang? As long as 1 person reads my blogposts and feels that I have helped him/her, it’s good enough for me. Blog popularity can wait.

“Its all the same, whether it is membership in a Golf club or membership in a travel club, they all require member to pay fees to enjoy privileges. This is to improve loyalty of their customers, so that they don’t switch brand (to other travel company), and at the same time, with the enormous number of members they have, they gain more bargain power with hotels and so on…”

I really LOVE how WV members make such SWEEPING STATEMENTS. It’s ALL THE SAME. EVERYONE, EVERWHERE, EVERY COMPANY IS DOING THIS, THIS, THIS. Yeah right.

If I join a golf club, I get to indulge in my hobby without a bunch of people waving blue banners, or golf clubs, for that matter. I most certainly enjoy privileges, WITHOUT having to rope in 4 other golfers, or pay MORE when I play golf in this club, versus at another venue where I am not a member. 

And what sort of SILLY REASONING is this: I have to pay so that I become loyal to the company? Er… I should be loyal to the company BECAUSE the company is awesome, NOT because they are deducting fees from my credit card regularly! 

Yes yes, I get that with a larger membership base, WV gets more bargaining power with hotels. Now, here’s the thing, WV is already HUGE but travel does not seem to be cheaper than what I can get on my own outside of WV, thanks to a demonstration by one rep. So how ENORMOUS must WV get before members actually enjoy some teeny weeny little privilege?

“By leveraging on the power of their member’s network, they saved a lot of adverts cost, staff cost (sales person, operator etc), saving cost means cheaper retail price for the members.”

Once again, I have to reiterate… one rep has shown me that traveling with WV is NOT cheaper than traveling on my own. Airfares these days are SO competitive. I’ve booked THREE holidays for TWO pax this year, and the total I have spent on these airfares (to Hong Kong, Taipei and Bangkok) come up to only S$800+, all taxes inclusive. I book hotels via agoda.com, where they regularly have special room rates, plus I get credits for reviewing my stays and can use those credits for future discounts. I pay NO membership fees. I need NOT recruit 4 people. I need NOT constantly recruit people. Do you get it now?

“If you don’t like to play Golf, don’t join that is it, same like a travel club, but please stop accusing a company with false negative article without researching what is pyramid scam, what is MLM and what is business etc.”

You know what, I actually support some companies which have an MLM-way of selling their products. Like, Tupperware. It’s actually a product that is useful for most people, and they aren’t pushy or overly aggressive like some WV members who want to recruit 4 and avoid paying fees.

Celebrities with a lot of followers certainly benefit from WV. Their followers want to join them in this ‘travel business’. But what about the average guy on the street? He has to try to convince FOUR of his friends to join, and he’ll likely lose many friendships along the way. So, I have to tell people this: “DON’T DO IT ON IMPULSE!”

“In our life, I’m sure we have been asked many times by insurance friends or agents to sign up an insurance (insurance is also MLM in case if you didn’t know), but if we don’t need that, just reject and move on. Cheers~”

This is another thing I really detest about WV members. Stop comparing your company with other companies, please. Governments support the purchase of insurance. Even companies pay for group insurance for their employees. Has any government shown such support for WV? 

Insurance is a necessity. WV “Dream Trips” are not. 

Insurance agents can be pesky, just like WV members. Granted. Having said that, no insurance agent will tell you that your premium is waived if you find 4 other friends to buy policies too. Similarly, when you join as an insurance agent, you are not asked to rope in 4 other people to join as agents. 

I think MLM works. And in those instances when it doesn’t because it is taken to extremes, I feel responsible for blogging about it. 

You say that if I don’t like WV, “just reject and move on”. That’s what the average person does. I’m a blogger. I blog about the rejection and I move on. You guys don’t like reading what I write? “Just reject and move on”! 

Just stay in your bubble.

And a friendly bit of advice: Bubbles do burst. 

26 thoughts on “World Ventures: Dream Trips?

  1. Pingback: Threatened By A World Ventures Rep! | Working With Grace

  2. Hey, Grace…While googled on why Dream Trips are becoming a hype, I happened to saw your blog.. Your insight is same as mine. I don’t believe we need to become a crazy group of people pursuing others just for their own benefit. A friend of mine that haven’t contacted me for years would suddenly find me just for sharing a GOOD thing..OMG.. I knew the drill immediately…I always plan my own trip and I find it more enjoyable for the pain I need plan everything and I learnt lotsa thing from it. I don’t have to travel in a big group with different opinions and likes. I likes being a solo backpacker and travel with few friends. Chat me up sometime…

    Regards,
    Allen Y.C

  3. Hey Grace, thanks so much to share this to us. “As long as 1 person reads my blogposts and does not fall into the WV trap, I feel happy that I have helped one person” – ya i m the one read and does not fall into the trap 🙂

  4. thanks grace….i was looking for another opinion for this WV….many keep approaching me for this.

  5. Many Thanks to you Grace as My wife and I were constantly being harassed by WV evangelist….

    Thanks for making the extra effort to caution the mass against such deprave acts…

  6. Thank you, all your posts just save me 🙂

    Regards from Indonesia 😀
    VW is booming in here now

  7. My soon to be Father In law is paying for our enrollment fee and is “reimbursing” us each month for our membership fee as a wedding gift… I have been researching the heck out of this company and cant find the answers to the most important question LOL CAN I GET OUT OF THIS ANYTIME I WANT? If his dad decides to stop can I cancel without fee or penalty or am I “stuck” for a certain amount of time?

    • Hi Penny,

      First up, I can think of many other better wedding gifts but who am I to comment on your father-in-law’s choice?

      Yeah for sure you can get out anytime you want; you’ll just be unable to take back the money already paid to the company.

  8. My bf fell into this too.. Instead of backing out straight away, i wanted to book a trip then leave (for etc to Phuket etc), at least use up the 200 points that were given to him, is that possible?

  9. What’s with the moral high horse talk about why or why not should one join the company?

    If you found a source to good benefits, regardless lotions, potions, pills, products or services, you’re likely to be reviewing it or sharing with others about it. Some companies don’t give 2 hoots if your share about them or not, some incentivize people sharing with reward stamps, stickers, cumulative points, credits and/or rebates for their recurrent patronage in the near future.

    In this case, the people are incentivized to share in a form of waived monthly subscription, so there’s really nothing to gripe about. You’re most welcome if you agree with the terms & conditions, if you don’t, k thanks bye.

    If you seriously would rather watch paint dry, is there need for you to go on loop mode about the company?

    You have a right to your opinion… and here’s mine (we can agree to disagree).

    The company is growing massive across continents, the number of membership & representatives are increasing immensely, and there’s spike in recent online search trends for some keywords related to the company.

    As a blogger, your income depends on the hits on your site, and you’re leveraging on the increase in online search directing traffic to your site…

    … So you can have a PAY RAISE~!

    • Hahaha that is ALL that WV members can think of. Money money money.

      For the record, mine is an award-winning blog. Do you think advertisers ask to see my blog stats? You think I just started blogging yesterday?

      Hell, no.

      I blog about the WV peeps who DO NOT reveal all there is to WV. Such as how it is banned in Norway, already stated to be illegal in M’sia and how it is basically just MLM with no real product to sell.

      I am SO getting a pay raise. LOL. Pardon me, I have to go book my next holiday WITHOUT Rovia and WV peeps. 😛

  10. Worldventures is a wonderful company, contributing to developing economies and helping families travel more often and create extra cash through referrals. There is nothing aggressive about their marketing. My suggestion Mr Blogger is to go on a dreamtrip and meet the founders, attend an event and understand the culture of this company, then u might be able to speak and critique with real authority. U cant do 200 million a year unless ur doing something right and something good.

    • My suggestion is that Mr Commenter figures out that I am not a Mister. And that a lot of other companies make much more in a year and turn out to be scams. #wordofcaution

  11. Hi Grace….how are you 🙂
    It’s been a while since I read you blog.

    I would like to express my sincere thank you and appreciation, because of your blog Worldventures became popular! More people wants to find out more about Worldventures.

    Thank you for the free advertising!

    You are awesome.

    • Oh… no worries. So many people have written to me to say thank you as well. Cos they don’t want to join WV or have left WV and gotten their refunds. I’m happy to do more “free advertising” for WV.

      I still don’t think WV is a good idea. 🙂

  12. Love your post and the ways you response especially between insurance and WV.
    Agree that traveling with WV is NOT cheaper than traveling on your own. Booking directly with airlines ensures better rates than WV 😉

  13. Hi Grace, I’m a ex WV members and i totally agree with your post. 1st: have to pay upfront joining fee, 2nd: monthly membership fee, 3rd: all their travel package is in USD. 4th: booking air ticket thru their website is not cheap because is in USD too. 5th who in the world will spend 3- 4 nites for exotic holiday with their love ones. I totally agree that booking directly thru airline is cheaper. I book hotels thru agoda n i’ve got discounted rates from reviewing and using the points in it. Best of all I don;t have to pay any joining fee and membership fees. To all people out there that is considering of joining WV and get rich, my advise is don’t waste your time, those who already struck rich is already up there….

  14. Been to the talk last night, the whole thing sounded just like the previous Sunshine Empire’s structure. I have a great big question here;

    1) If it takes 200 people to contribute to my almost $3,000 monthly payout, how many $3,000 does WV needs to pay?
    2) Given such a scheme, the payout as above is an exponential growth, which in turn would risk getting into a “no pay out” situation?
    3) They registered a total number of 4 companies, with 1 struck off from ACRA. Their compliance to ACRA are lagging by almost 2 years, except for the “Events” company. Any kind of tell-tale sign?
    4) Can anyone check on their yearly accounts to provide more details or proof to such?

    They are established since 2009 till now and their compliance to ACRA are lagging by a good 2 years. I checked on Google, also a US company, their compliance are just slightly more than 1 year.

  15. Been in the talk by a friend last night. Sounds too good to be true, we’ll in the end..they’re just helping themselves not you. When you’re actually in you’ll be getting the nightmares to convince 4 more in 28 days. I have been asking around.. and yeah… how often can u travel in a year? how much money you’re willing to spend? well, no travel no points. The next thing you’ll found out is that your ‘downlines’ have just ‘given up’.. so bye bye MLM passive income dreams. Find more yourself and work hard? sure.. but finding 30 is almost the same as losing 30 friends. Newcomers who wanted to get rich please do think twice. Nicely written Grace.

Comments are closed.