World Ventures: “Losing $360 USD Won’t Kill Anyone”

There is a lively discussion going on at my very first post on 5 Reasons Why I Refuse To Join World Ventures. And one particular reader, Weiting, a WV member, has clearly had a field day of leaving comments on my blogpost because I have published and responded to all of his/her initial comments. Having realized how futile it is for me to try and change Weiting’s perception of WV, I have written that I have said my piece and wish to end the discussion, with peace to all. But Weiting refuses to give up, and her most recent comment reveals such callousness that it chills me to the bone.

A screenshot:

World Ventures Scam

In case the screenshot isn’t clear enough:

“The successful people you interviewed all have certain characteristics am I right to say that? That is their attitude and conviction to things that they desire. Their never say die attitude. That’s why the people who left WV are usually the people who think short term and lack of determination. They demand instant gratification. The want quick money and microwave success. But it doesn’t apply it in greatness. Nothing of greatness will come easily or quickly.

In WV or any network marketing is a solid platform for anybody to come into it because of it’s low start up cost. But it gives people a chance to train and and develop themselves in terms of personal growth; confidence, attitude, perspective, etc etc. And with these skill set, they won’t only be able to succeed in WV, they will be able to pursue anything in life in any career, their relationship, health etc etc.

But because of this blog post, it instill fear in people to even give it a try. So what I’m trying to say is; losing $360 USD won’t kill anyone. But denying people the chance of growing is killing their hope and push them back to their comfort zone. You may not feel it because it’s just writing of a post. But look at a big picture; it creates a ripple effect. Like I said; with great power, comes great responsibility. If you are just any blogger, I wouldn’t even bother. But you are someone I respect alot from your other blog postings. I enjoy reading them and your insights. It’s inspirational and therefore, it’s influential. I don’t blame you because network marketing is an industry that alot of people won’t understand until they are part of it.”

My Response in bold font:

“The successful people you interviewed all have certain characteristics am I right to say that? That is their attitude and conviction to things that they desire. Their never say die attitude. That’s why the people who left WV are usually the people who think short term and lack of determination. They demand instant gratification. The want quick money and microwave success. But it doesn’t apply it in greatness. Nothing of greatness will come easily or quickly.”

Is it wrong for people to realize their mistake and take steps to correct it, such as by leaving World Ventures? Many join because of their friends’ cajoling. Most are seduced by the idea of having endless “dream trips” and the fantasy idea of making money while traveling. Haven’t we been warned that when something appears too good to be true, we should avoid it? So you think that they should stick around till “greatness” or a miracle happens? Just because they have woken up and left, you deem they are unworthy of greatness? Let me tell you something… everyone can do great things. They don’t need World Ventures in order to do great things. 

“In WV or any network marketing is a solid platform for anybody to come into it because of it’s low start up cost. But it gives people a chance to train and and develop themselves in terms of personal growth; confidence, attitude, perspective, etc etc. And with these skill set, they won’t only be able to succeed in WV, they will be able to pursue anything in life in any career, their relationship, health etc etc.”

The main draw of WV is the holidays-for-cheap idea. Not personal development. There are MANY other MUCH BETTER companies which can help you achieve your personal development goals, at a lower price. 😉 Take, for instance, Toastmasters. I used to be a Toastmaster – it’s a much lower fee than WV – TM is not for profit, like WV is. I got to network, gain business referrals from friends in TM, and developed my public speaking skills, which have been invaluable. I was not asked to get 4 other people to join in order to waive off fees, etc. If you want to claim that WV is a personal development platform, I can tell you this, simply, that TM is a much better platform.

“But because of this blog post, it instill fear in people to even give it a try. So what I’m trying to say is; losing $360 USD won’t kill anyone. But denying people the chance of growing is killing their hope and push them back to their comfort zone. You may not feel it because it’s just writing of a post. But look at a big picture; it creates a ripple effect. Like I said; with great power, comes great responsibility. If you are just any blogger, I wouldn’t even bother. But you are someone I respect alot from your other blog postings. I enjoy reading them and your insights. It’s inspirational and therefore, it’s influential. I don’t blame you because network marketing is an industry that alot of people won’t understand until they are part of it.”

I am so glad that in your enthusiasm to share about how wonderful you think WV is, you have undeniably demonstrated your callousness and your total disregard for the finances of the people you rope in. Losing 360USD won’t kill anyone huh? Well said. Come, I shall clap for you. There are people out there starving, wondering when the next meal will be put on the table. People who survive on minimum wages. People who might even name their firstborn after you if you give them 360USD! 😉 And you say losing 360USD won’t kill anyone? Nice.

I’ve initially commented that I think you are someone who persists in what you believe in, so you are a natural candidate for doing well in WV or any other NM company. You know, I respect people who have conviction. And I thought you deserved respect for that. I take that back now. I was wrong.

Someone who thinks “losing $360 USD won’t kill anyone” should really take a week off, no, maybe a full month, and go on a trip and think about really helping people, not hoping to extract 360USD from each one of them, because it “won’t kill anyone”. Good grief, you people are heartless to think that!

~

Ultimately, I think that WV members who claim to be helping others achieve “greatness” are full of BS. If you really and truly have a heart of gold, go be a volunteer and do volunteer work. I am a volunteer. I do not get paid when helping others. Putting a smile on the face of someone who does not earn even 360 USD a month gives me more joy than going on a ‘dream holiday’. The former warms the cockles of your heart, the latter just means more pictures to spam your facebook friends with. 

6 thoughts on “World Ventures: “Losing $360 USD Won’t Kill Anyone”

  1. Wow you can write pretty well.. Haha.. I’m a UNISIM student. Got to know your blog through my school.. Heard you are coming to speak in SIM soon. Nice blog!

  2. By the way, just a suggestion.. Wouldn’t it be nicer to remove the wordpress thing from your website? Just my opinion.. I think it’s quite cheap, 18 bucks for 1 year of owning the website address.. Just an opinion 😀

    • I own gracetan.com. But I think having a (free) wordpress blog is great, ‘cos I can show others how a free blog can win awards and make me money anyway. Some people can pay for a fancy website and end up with nothing. 😉 Just to prove a point, if you get what I mean.

    • Hi Grace,
      Love reading all about your comments on WV! To bits!!

      I was approached yesterday suddenly to have a catch up with one of my ex colic weird really weird as we don’t even lunch together when we worked at the same company thinking that she was genuine since she stopped work recently (with those LOUD banners flashed all over her FB) I met up with her since she say she was near to my workplace …

      Guess what meet up a big hug sit down no drinks nothing she started saying she wan to show me something which I find it so fishy using her iPad started flashing those holidays with alot of nice places flashing those banners those Ang mo all having good time (sound familiar Hor) for me I have no patience for this and I ask what is this and she say just 10 mins very fast??? Ok ok so finished done and I asked what next what is this? Started her la la la stories and she like possessed asking me how?
      I was like huh? Paying for a membership for nothing 255usd she say promotion now the 50 will go to piggy bank? I say eh for what? I can’t really travel and those places are too exotic for family with young kids than she started saying oh their search engine is powerful and I was like huh? Since I love to google alot?? I say sorry don’t get it and she say why not join the selling membership you don’t hav to travel and u get pay?? Huh? Just refer 4 (small fonts saying must remain active) duh! I say argh! Not selling any products and not getting anything but just keep paying she say no no within 4 weeks u refer 6 you get cash and cycle goes on.. Will be good money for you since u have kids to support?? I try to control myself.. I say eh let me think than she bring up her banner and say look I am so motivated I bring the banner with me everywhere (very possessed)!
      Ended up I deviated her with other topics and she try to press me ask me to fill up form I say stop I have heavy family commitments and I have no time for all these things she kept quiet.. We catch up a bit about ex colic and our life… Hug each other and she went to her 2nd session of so called training since she missed the first one . Looking at her back I feel for her..

      Came home google found your blog! I am not a blog follower neither do I hav time for this but must thanks WV that I get to know your blog and I will continue to read it!!

      Sorry kinda long winded trying hard to cut short but I just need to get it out since I find it so hilarious about the whole thing ! The mutated timeshare!!!!! Hahahah a
      Sincerely wishing their members a successful journey ! (Not being sarcastic here)!

    • Hi Lily,

      Wow, you have just confirmed my suspicions. Some people do get possessed by the blue banner spirit. Mutated timeshare indeed.

      Oh well. I know the day will come when this whole WV business is exposed as a scam and I can tell these folks “I told you so”. 😉

  3. Pingback: Threatened By A World Ventures Rep! | Working With Grace

Comments are closed.