Food Review & Giveaway: Ramen Kagetsu Arashi, The Cathay

[S$10 Ramen Kagetsu Arashi Voucher Giveaway at the end of this post]

Japan’s third most popular ramen chain (with more than 290 outlets worldwide) has come to Singapore! Ramen Kagetsu Arashi is supposedly the number 1 ramen chain in Japan for Garlic Tonkotsu broth.

I got to try two exclusive dishes from Ramen Kagetsu Arashi: the Ginjiro Ramen ($13.90) and Itameshi Dry Curry Rice ($12.90).

Ramen Kagetsu Arashi

If, like me, you pick up your spoon to taste the broth the minute the bowl of ramen is placed in front of you, you will be taken aback by the salty broth. Apparently, the level of saltiness has already been toned down to suit local palates, but make no mistakes, the broth is not for sipping. Just slurp up the oodles of noodles and leave the broth untouched.

Overall, I don’t know what the fuss is about. I would not consider this the best ramen I have tasted.

Ramen Kagetsu Arashi

The Dry Curry Rice is worth a try – slightly charred in places, and the curry-infused rice is crispy and with an interesting aroma.

Ramen Kagetsu Arashi

The Gyoza was ordinary. Apparently, you need to mix 3 sauces in order to create the perfect condiment. Ask the staff if you don’t know which to add.

Outlet Locations:

  1. The Star Vista (1 Vista Exchange Green, #01-41, S138617) Tel: 63390335
  2. Tampines 1 (10 Tampines Central 1, #02-09/10, S539536) Tel: 68540335
  3. The Cathay (2 Handy Road, #B1-01/02/03, S229233) Tel: 67363055

Voucher Giveaway

WIN a S$10 Ramen Kagetsu Arashi voucher! This voucher is valid till 20 Feb 2015 (next year!) and will be mailed to you if you are the winner.

How To Win:

1) ‘Like’ My Facebook Page

2) Leave a comment on this blogpost and tell me what you want to try at Ramen Kagetsu Arashi. Is it the ramen? The curry rice? Or… the gyoza?

Giveaway ends 1st March, 23:59hrs. The winner will be notified via email.

16 thoughts on “Food Review & Giveaway: Ramen Kagetsu Arashi, The Cathay

  1. I would love to try both the curry rice and the gyoza. If I could only eat one then it will be the curry rice. This is because I love rice and it fills my stomach🙂

  2. Hi,
    Was searching for a review on Kagetsu Arashi Ramen and am glad to find yours. Very
    frank review which I liked. Hope to get the $10 voucher so as to bring my whole family to
    try. We would definitely try the curry rice, followed by the Ginjiro Ramen then the Gyoza.
    Just want to try all that you have tasted. Have a nice day!

Comments are closed.