The Missing Pan: Yummy Dessert, Some Fab Mains

I had lunch at The Missing Pan (619D Bukit Timah Rd) yesterday. It’s not exactly the most accessible or convenient location for a meal so I wondered if it would be worth the drive there. As it turned out, the meal started and ended well. Here’s why.

The Missing Pan Croque Monsieur

The first main to be served, the Croque Monsieur, looked unassuming and like it could possibly be yet another blah sandwich. Boy, was I wrong! It is amazingly yummy! I don’t know if it’s the ham, or the parmesan or the grape foccacia, perhaps it’s because of the whole combination, but it just tasted really good. If not for the fact that I was sharing this with my 2 personal trainers, I could have eaten it all myself!šŸ˜€

After descending from grape foccacia heaven, well, it was a little bit more ordinary.

The Missing Pan Over Hangover

We had requested for the ‘Over Hangover’ to be sliced into two before being served, so I guess it’d ordinarily look less messy. I guess this is a creation just for the guys – eggs, bacon, fries, etc. Plus an interesting name to boot. It’s not exactly memorable taste-wise.

The Missing Pan Guinness Pot Pie

Another creation I guess the dudes will enjoy. I’m not a huge fan of beef stew so with or without Guinness, it doesn’t impress me.

The Missing Pan Rosemary Rosti Stack

Thankfully, they have a nice name for this. Or I’d just call it ‘The Alien’. Two bulging egg yolk eyes and no mouth, geddit? It tasted alright, though I guess the rosti could have been less charred.

Thankfully, I was given the unenviable task of heading downstairs to select our dessert. I have this strange ability to pick out stuff which tastes good. Which is why the fiance, when he can’t make up his mind on what to order, will just ask me for my 2nd choice and he’ll order just that. Often, if he picks from the menu himself, he’ll end up eating what I order because my pick is usually the better one (not boasting here).šŸ˜€

Our dessert: Banana Cinnamon Crumble and one Brownie Cube…

The Missing Pan Banana Cinnamon Crumble and Brownie Cube

All’s well that ends well. F&B establishments sometimes forget how important dessert is. If your mains are not exactly yummy but the dessert is heavenly, patrons will STILL come back. If the mains are pretty good but the dessert was SO bad, patrons will tell their friends “yeah, I guess the food’s not bad but the dessert was terrible” and I don’t think you’ll get more customers this way. Remember: women always have a separate compartment for dessert, and if your pastries and ice cream are good, you’ll find your way into our hearts! This is exactly why I eat at Awfully Chocolate’s restaurants. Even if the mains don’t impress me, I KNOW there’s Hei ice cream to save the day.šŸ˜‰

I’m glad The Missing Pan serves up good dessert. You can lose as many pans as you want, but please ensure I get good brownies and yummy cake always.šŸ˜‰

The Missing Pan: 619D Bukit Timah Rd, #01/02-01 Tel: 64664377