Behind The Scenes: Grace Tan x The Sunday Times

Blogger Grace Tan The Sunday Times

Earlier this month, I met up with a journalist from The Sunday Times for an interview. After which, we had a photo-taking session during which even the fiancé pitched in and helped with the ‘lighting’ (see picture above).

Slightly over a week after the meet-up, the journalist, Rachel, sent me the draft to look through before it would be readied for publication. I discovered the importance of going through the draft first as there were a few errors that might have occurred due to mis-communication. Hopefully they do not make it to print.

  1. [About my previous job at AKLTG] For one, I did not work late every day. Just during the peak sales periods when there were previews, and when the kids’ camps were being run. I did “burn” weekends when there were previews though.
  2. I did not do cold-calling all the time. Just put calls through to potential customers when it was on my to-do list for the day. I could make over 40 calls a day sometimes, as not all calls would be answered anyway.
  3. On those days when my (working) mother would be cooking dinner on her ‘off days’, and I couldn’t make it home in time due to work, I’d be quite heartbroken. I was really quite sick of eating food bought outside, which usually came with too much salt, oil and MSG. Now, I always make it home for Mom’s hearty, home-cooked meals.😀
  4. I also did not binge-eat to get really quite plump while working at AKLTG. It was just due to insufficient exercise. I must have weighed about 5kg heavier than I do now. Read my book ‘Blogging For A Living’ and you’ll spot that picture of me and my ex-boss, Adam Khoo. My face was round like a mooncake back then [You have my permission to laugh], but it is now much ‘sharper’. I work out twice a week these days, with my trainers from Quantum Fitness.🙂

I’m definitely looking forward to reading the interview in print. It will be yet another milestone in my blogging journey!😀

If you are visiting my blog for the first time (due to The Sunday Times’ interview), I would like to extend a warm welcome to you.🙂 Feel free to browse, and drop me an email at gracewwg [at] gmail [dot] com should you have any queries.

*NOTE: I have received many emails regarding products that can “help” my grandmother deal with diabetes. Unfortunately, she had already passed away before I was born!