5 Lessons From Winning The Luxe Snap Contest


*I won by 2021 points. There were just 2 people actually competing for the grand prize in this contest. ;)*

[The background]

When I did a blogpost about Luxury City, I did not expect to take part in their Luxe Snap contest. But since my photographer friend, Max Clyne, had taken such lovely pictures of me within the Luxury City store, I thought I’d just submit a photo for the fun of it.

Saint Laurent Classic Sac De Jour

Then things got serious.

Before I knew it, I was in the Top 3. Because the other participants had a maximum of around 200+ points only, it was rather easy to take the lead. (Every vote you get can give you up to 5 points)

I thought I would sail to the finish with just 400-odd points. Easy peasy.

Then, enter ‘pink lover’ – a lady toting a pink Kate Spade bow bag – as the ‘dark horse’. She was obviously gunning for top spot as well. I could not back down from a good fight.

Yesterday morning, I was leading by just 200+ points. At any time within the day, she could have easily overtaken me and gotten top placing. The battle began…

[Lessons I Learnt]

1) Always have people you can count on for help

I may have over 11,000 fans on my facebook page, but due to facebook’s settings, not all of them would be able to view my posts asking them to vote. In fact, only a tiny fraction of them saw my posts. A couple of personal friends were even in the dark about this contest when I messaged them.

I have a whole list of people I’d like to thank for their help, a number of whom are in my Blog Club: Carol, Flore, Kirbie, Simon, Eng Beng, Denny, etc. And especially to Steven Lek, who blogs at retiredowhat.com. He sent private messages via facebook to many of his over-1000 friends asking them to vote for me. He was sending messages at such an alarming rate that Facebook sent him warnings twice, telling him to slow down! I am eternally grateful, Steven!πŸ˜€

2) Be more deserving of these friends you feel you don’t deserve

A number of people helped me out a great deal this time even though they stood to gain nothing. I did not pay them and they did not even receive prizes in any of my giveaways. They basically got nothing out of it than the satisfaction of helping a friend.

They didn’t just help to vote. They also shared the links on their own facebook profiles or sent messages to their friends!

Thank You

Max Clyne, Steven Lek, Derek Gue, Carol Lim, Chris Shia, Francyn Tan, Andrew Chow, Clarence Chin, Amanda Teng, Terence Chiew and many more I have not tracked down and personally thanked!πŸ™‚

Fans from all over the world also got their friends and family members to vote. There are people from Croatia, Russia, Germany, France, Malaysia, Philippines, etc! [Some of you probably did it for the prizes but I love you anyway!]

I’ll be doing my best to return the favors and also bring more of my well-liked giveaways back.πŸ˜€

3) Do whatever it takes – if you want to win

I knew that Saturday was extremely crucial if I wanted to win this contest. Trust me, I don’t care about the bag. I have too many bags at home. I just do not back down from fights – unless the person is wielding a knife, in which case, I’ll run.

So what I did was postpone all my appointments on Saturday. Yes, it was crazy, no doubt. But that is just me. If I am committed to doing something, I do it. I am glad my pal, Steven, knows exactly what I am talking about. Because he has the same trait.πŸ˜€

This thing about commitment is what I TRY to teach some of my Blog Clubbers. Unfortunately only a handful have “gotten it”. There are some who still have no idea what commitment is about.

I spent the entire Saturday at home messaging friends, harassing them on Facebook (if I saw them online, they’d get a message), and basically replying emails and requesting that people keep voting.

Before I knew it, 8am became 5pm. Time really flew for me yesterday. I probably set a national record for email replies. Everyone who sent me an email got a reply within the hour, some within a minute.

I was THAT committed to winning this. And by the time I went to bed, I was leading by over 1507 points.

That is how I won this contest. But there will be some people who make senseless remarks… like this lady…

4) There will be sour grapes and people who hate your win. Learn to love them.

Sherry Ho

Who is Sherry Ho?

*Disclaimer: I understand that some people do create fake accounts on Facebook with other people’s photos.

Sherry Ho timeline

She apparently works at “Singapore Airlines” according to her profile.

Interesting how an SQ Girl cannot even get her ‘face’ within the profile picture thumbnail. Was this photo misused by someone else?πŸ˜‰ She also seems to haveΒ sarcasm you won’t expect from a Singapore Girl. Hmm. *I did not include a close-up of her picture here just in case it was stolen by someone malicious for the setting up of this account.

I didn’t pay anyone to vote for me, but I did run giveaways in order to get more votes. Pretty much the same as how Luxury City ran this bag giveaway to get more likes/fans. Perhaps “Sherry” could not comprehend that.πŸ™‚

I am always of the opinion that if I were to ask someone to help me out, or do something for me, I need to provide a reason for them to do so.

Hence the giveaways.

Help me win this bag, and I’ll give you a prize. Fair trade, no?

I don’t suppose cabin crew will be sweet to me if I have not paid for a seat on their flight too.πŸ™‚ (Though I am a shareholder in SQ. Ha!)

5) Celebrate Your Win

At the end of the day, sour grapes will be sour. Victory is sweet. Do not let other people’s bitterness rob you of the sweetness of your win.πŸ˜€

Gonna celebrate with the people who matter. Those who want to get sarcastic / sour / jealous can go get pickled in a vat of vinegar.

As a blogger for almost 4 years now, I have seen much worse.πŸ™‚