Factory Tour: Julie’s Biscuits, Malacca

Julie's Biscuits

Thanks to Julie’s Biscuits / Perfect Food Manufacturing, I had the opportunity of touring one of their factories in Malacca and also bringing home lots of their yummy biscuits! šŸ˜€

I’m doing a giveaway of the biscuits in a LINE collectible tin. So if you haven’t participated already, hurry on over to my facebook page:

Julie's Biscuits

The company, Perfect Food Manufacturing, was established in 1981 and since then it has exported its biscuits to countries all around the world, been accredited with ISO 9001:2008, GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices), HACCP, OHSAS, etc. Also, many awards have been won – recent ones include the ‘Industry Excellent (Food Industries)’ award at the Malaysia Business Awards 2013, Gulfood Highly Commended Best New Baked Product 2013 and Best New Bakery Products 2013 by Fine Food Australia.

I love their Peanut Butter Sandwich and Cheese Sandwich biscuits. And the Le-Mond Puff Mango Flavoured Sandwich has been my favorite for a very long time. My Dad has also been purchasing their Oat Cookies recently. I guess we each have our favs because of the stunning variety of baked goods in the Julie’s Biscuit range!

All of us bloggers were met with a really warm reception at the factory…

Group Picture with all the other bloggers:

Julie's Biscuits

Lunch was Malaysian style and nothing short of amazing. I loved the sambal prawns. I really need to learn how to cook those. And though we were all starving from the long coach ride, we still took the necessary pictures first. Hahaha. As I couldn’t get near the food, I gave up and took this picture. LOL…

Julie's Biscuits

We also sat through a very informative session after lunch and got to learn more about the company. What impressed me most was not the emphasis on baking with love (‘cos we know that already, don’t we?) but the care for their workers. Those who joined the company and were deemed “too skinny” were given 2 eggs everyday with their meals at the staff canteen, for an entire month! Also, there’s a hostel for them, and they get free food at the canteen everyday (unless they get sick of the food and venture outside for meals).

Here I am with Regina and HP, two of the nicest bloggers in the group. šŸ˜€

Julie's Biscuits

And one final picture… from the presentation. At the launch event of their Julie’s x LINE biscuits, they had the awesome mascots go on stage for photos and some fun. However did I miss this?!

Julie's Biscuits

Thank you Julie’s / Perfect Food Manufacturing! šŸ™‚