‘The Best Of Me’ in GV Gold Class Suntec City (Plus A Giveaway)

the best of me

I got to watch ‘The Best Of Me’ in GV Gold Class comfort at Suntec City this week, upon Golden Village’s invitation. On top of the movie treat, I got to taste their yummy fare too. But first, a quick synopsis for those who are wondering if they should go watch this movie…


“Based on the bestselling novel by acclaimed author Nicholas Sparks, The Best of Me tells the story of Dawson and Amanda, two former high school sweethearts who find themselves reunited after 20 years apart, when they return to their small town for the funeral of a beloved friend. Their bittersweet reunion reignites the love they’ve never forgotten, but soon they discover the forces that drove them apart twenty years ago live on, posing even more serious threats today. Spanning decades, this epic love story captures the enduring power of our first true love, and the wrenching choices we face when confronted with elusive second chances.”

Despite the horrid reviews that this movie got from local movie critics, I actually liked it. In fact, it really made me wonder if firstly, such an “epic love story” exists in real life, and two, what I’d do if I’m in Amanda’s shoes – stay on in a (probably) loveless marriage for the sake of my son whom I treasure, OR reunite with my first and only love but break up my marriage in the process. Hmm… while I ponder about that, a quick review of the food in Gold Class…

GV Gold Class Menu

I ordered the most amazing $16 mini Caramelised Onion Beef Burger (which is served with 2 mini burgers). The buns were warm and yummy on their own (which is quite a feat!) and in the middle of the beef is black pepper sauce which oozes out like when you cut open a poached egg. LOL! Definitely one of the best burgers I’ve ever eaten in Singapore. I’m not kidding you!

However, the tender boneless chicken thigh ($16) was a huge disappointment. The only thing that was good to eat on that plate were the potatoes. The chicken was under-cooked and that’s also quite a feat – it’s pretty easy to cook chicken so I don’t understand how the chef got this so wrong. Moral of the story: Order only the items which are their ‘specialties’, as indicated by the chef’s hat icon on the menu.

As for dessert, I ordered Churros with Ice Cream ($11) which I didn’t like very much. And for once, he ordered the most stunning dessert – Chocolate Lovin’ Spoonful Cake ($10). The chocolate cake is moist, fudge-y, very rich and absolutely amazing. It’s one of those chocolate cakes you won’t mind getting fat on.

We drank the Lychee-licious and Orange-cooler mocktails ($9 each). The orange one was definitely the winner. And we also had the Harry Brompton’s London Ice Tea ($13) which comes straight out of a glass bottle. It tastes pretty good when you drink it while it’s still cold. Letting it sit while you watch the movie is a no-no, like I found out.

{ Giveaway }

WIN a S$10 Gold Class Dining Voucher simply by leaving a comment on this blogpost: tell me who you’d like to bring to a movie in Gold Class OR which movie you’ll be watching in Gold Class.๐Ÿ˜€

*The voucher is valid till 28 Feb 2015

*Winner announcement: 28 Nov 2014

{ Gold Class !!! }

Golden Village Gold Class Suntec City

And here’s why you should catch a movie in Gold Class with your loved one!๐Ÿ™‚ It’s spacious, the back of the seat and the leg rests can be adjusted independently, you get to eat your entire meal while watching the movie, and you can get assistance at the push of a button so you won’t even have to get out of your seat in order to get another drink!

Singaporeans work hard, and we know how to pamper ourselves too. I guess this is why Golden Village is expanding fast. They now have Gold Class cinemas in 4 locations: Vivocity, Katong, Great World City and Suntec City! Here at Suntec, there are 3 halls with 32 seats each. The lounge is really spacious, great for chilling with friends, and you can even sample a number of wines for a small fee soon.

I cannot wait for my next GV Gold Class date night. This one was awesome!๐Ÿ˜€

57 thoughts on “‘The Best Of Me’ in GV Gold Class Suntec City (Plus A Giveaway)

  1. Usually, my hubby and i will go to 112 Katong GV Gold Class for special events/dates such as birthdays. Would love to check out the new Gold Class at Suntec!

  2. I would like to bring my bf over to celebrate our anniversary๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked and shared:)

  3. I would like to bring my special one for a date to the cinema next week. Would be great if I have this voucher to add on. Thanks Grace.๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I would like to bring my son to reward him for his hard-work in his SA2 exams. Going on a movie date in Gold Class is definitely a treat for him and me!:)

  5. I want to give the pair of tickets to my parents. Let them enjoy the movie like king and queen. So that I can be in the royal family and be princess too.๐Ÿ™‚

  6. It’s either Big Hero 6 or Interstellar! Most likely Big Hero 6 though. It’s by the people that brought out Frozen and led by people from Pixar.

  7. Hi Grace,

    Great Giveaway….

    I love to bring my lovely boyfriend to a movie in Gold Class and love to watch horror movie if available because we are horror movie mania but Interstellar movie also sound quite nice and good Sci-Fi movie from the movie review I saw. Hopefully can win this and can experience it with my love. โค

    Done Liked & Shared…

    FB: Casy Ang Sy
    Twitter: ca1409

  8. Hi Grace, it’s great that you shared the experience and I really would love to enjoy it one day. But unfortunately there isn’t any nice show to watch in this expensive cinema. Hope one day will have a chance comeby

  9. I would love to bring my hubby since our wedding anniversary is around the corner. It would be nice to reward him (ourselves) & celebrate in “gold class”!
    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

    Liked & shared!

  10. Clichรฉ it may sound…… but I have never catch any movie in the gold class in my life yet… so if I may, I would love to win this and catch a show with my Hubby and to experience the highly raved movie experience! Thanks Grace!

  11. I will like to bring my hubby to a movie in Gold Class. We have never catch a movie at Gold Class!

  12. I will bring my daughter, school hols are approaching! Need some mother-daughter bonding time!

  13. Mr. hubby!!!
    Ever since having 2 kids, we never had a date night at the movies…would love to win this as we have nothing plan for Xmas๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  14. Would love to bring my hubby to gold class to watch movie during our anniversary in December๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Went to gold class once but ended up watching quite a boring movie, but lovely experience nonetheless! Would love to go again! The seats really made you feel like a V.I.P! & Hi Grace!๐Ÿ˜€

  16. I will bring my darling as he always bring me for great movies it’s my turn now to treat him.

  17. I will be bringing my boyfriend along so as to celebrate his 25th birthday and our 46th monthsary!๐Ÿ™‚ Really hope to win this so that we can have a great celebration! ^^ In any case, thanks so much for the review!

    • Bringing hubby! My very hardworking man need a luxury treat for his birthday on 1st dec. Haven’t went for a movie with him alone for a long time and we have never tried gold class!

Comments are closed.