Chocolate & Tea Appreciation Journey at Capella Singapore


I had the privilege of attending the media preview of Capella Singapore’s Festive Chocolate and Tea Experience yesterday.

I have never thought that tea and chocolate could go well together.

But they do.

The pairing of Valrhona Chocolate and Gryphon Tea was amazing. I never knew that chocolate appreciation, like wine appreciation, is an art.

By warming your mouth with the tea first, it helps the chocolate melt when you put it into your mouth next.

Thus, I learnt not to pair chocolates with wine.😉

And how do you go about appraising the chocolate? First you rub a small chunk of chocolate between thumb and forefinger, and observe its appearance. Then bite off a piece and let it roll around your tongue and melt in your mouth. Note the fragrance and maybe even fruity notes that surface. And then, yes, swallow.

If you are pairing the chocolate with tea, get a sip of tea first and savor it. Then put the chocolate into your mouth (as above) and then finish off with a piece of chocolate and tea together! Quite an experience, I tell you!🙂

And the chocolate dessert buffet that follows? Amazeballs.

You have to check it out at The Knolls, Capella Singapore. Available every Friday evening for 6 weeks, from 21 Nov 2014 till 2 Jan 2015, 6.30pm to 10pm.

Price: $48++ (Definitely value-for-money!)

Includes: Gryphon tea-infused cocktail or mocktail, chocolate dessert buffet, free flow of tea and a take-home memory bag.

Reservations: The Knolls (6591 5046) or



{ Giveaway }

Valrhona Chocolate

I’m giving away some lovely bars of premium chocolate from Valrhona. To be one of three winners, simply leave me a comment here with your email address so I can contact you if you’re picked.🙂

*International giveaway😀

*Winner announcement: 20 Nov 2014

135 thoughts on “Chocolate & Tea Appreciation Journey at Capella Singapore

  1. Other people thinks tea and chocolates are unhealthy, sinful and fattening. As I search to the internet one of the article said that tea and chocolates are also good for the heart. Eating chocolates and drinking tea could help reduce the risk of heart attack. I really love to drink tea and eat chocolates, it’s really exciting when I read this article that chocolates and tea can go together, so after I read this article I try it! I drink my favorite tea first then the chocolate. Nice taste! I really love it! In fact, my husband love the taste too! I will share this experience with my daughter and sons!

  2. I am a true blue chocolate fan as I eat chocolate EVERYDAY, my must-have little snack after lunch and dinner.
    I didn’t know that I should warm my mouth first to help melt the chocolate.
    I actually avoid taking warm drinks prior to eating chocolates because I want the chocolate to melt SLOWLY so i can savour it.
    Maybe I should try it now to see if it will help bring out more flavour.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

Comments are closed.