Gillette Venus’ #UseYourAnd Campaign – Huh?!!!

I usually ignore press releases because (1) in no way do they benefit me, and (2) my blog is not a public noticeboard – I do not copy and paste press releases onto this blog, so such emails always go into the trash. But this one from Gillette was simply mind-boggling. “Use Your And”?! Simi?!

I definitely think the campaign could have been named a different way, and given a hashtag that is easier to understand instantly. But if you watch the video, like I did, then you’ll finally understand what this campaign is about.

The Gillette Venus #UseYourAnd video:

Having said that, I still don’t see any link between this campaign and Gillette. And at the end of the video, it states “great legs”. Am I supposed to complete the sentence with “and…”?

*Anyway, what qualifies as “great legs”? Hairless legs?

The first two-thirds of the video are inspiring and all but the final third just (pathetically) tries to link it back to Gillette. Ha! I like that line “You are polished nails and a polished mind” (sounds good) but I won’t buy Gillette’s products anyway. [Daiso sells 3 for S$2 shavers *ahem*]

The comments left on this video are very interesting:

Gillette Venus

Gillette Venus

Gillette Venus

Gillette Venus, I think this video is good (at least the first two-thirds) AND I think you can do better next time!😛