What To Do In Penang (Georgetown)

It’s my second day in Penang and I already am dreaming of staying put in Georgetown and not returning to Singapore. 😀 If you have been following me on Facebook, you’ll know that I had a blog coaching session here yesterday AND I also found my ‘Blogging For A Living’ books being sold in a Popular bookstore in Penang! 😀

So… this might be my retirement town in future. LOL! And here’s what you should do when you come to Penang, and in particular, Georgetown:

1) Eat a lot of good food

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

My boyfriend and I have been here for approximately one-and-a-half days and this is not all of what we have eaten, just a portion. 😀 I really do love Penang’s assam laksa, hokkien mee, char kway teow, and basically, all their street food!

And the food here is unbelievably cheaper than in Singapore. Would you say no to a plate of yummy char kway teow that costs less than S$1.70? You just can’t.

2) Snap pictures of (or with) the street art

image

image

image

image

I definitely have more street art pictures to share with you… in my next blogpost.

The pink sling bag in the first picture is from Maku Store (20% off) at Bugis Junction #03-20. The T-rex tote bag is from Tee Saurus (www.tee-saurus.com) and so is the tee I am wearing! 😀 Shorts and flip flops from Aeropostale.

Maku Store Singapore

3) Forget about hotels and stay at Carnarvon House

I fell in love with this place from pictures online. Though the rooms don’t come with attached bathrooms, everything is so clean that I feel right at home here.

image

image

image

image

The first room we stayed in is called the Carnarvon room, and the second, Kimberley room. There’s cold air-conditioning inside and warm showers outside; I cannot ask for more.

The people who run Carnarvon House are also extremely friendly and very generous with recommendations of what to eat and where to go.

(More pictures in my upcoming blogpost)

4) Visit a wet market and the Clan Jetties

It is quite an experience, I tell you! You don’t usually see an array of fish on display right at your feet, ya? Look out for the bloated brown one in the second picture…

image

image

Besides seafood, you’ll find household items, vegetables, fruit, snacks, accessories, etc, all sold in the market! 🙂

image

I was initially reluctant to head to the Clan Jetties. But Eunice from Carnarvon House had recommended the jetties to us so we walked there from Carnarvon House. Probably a 12 or 15 minute walk. The Chew Jetty is more ‘happening’ than the Tan Jetty. Chew had more stalls selling souvenirs, etc. And I bought some for a giveaway (at the end of this blogpost).

The clan jetties were built by clansmen in the past and traditionally occupied by people of the same surname e.g. Ong Jetty, Lim Jetty, Lee Jetty, etc. You see?! I am destined to stay here at the Tan Jetty. Lol.

5) Buy my book at a Popular bookstore near you 😀

image

6) Go shopping in the many malls; and share your loot with people at home

image

image

We obviously did some serious shopping. And I could continue replying to emails, whatsapp messages and also posting on Facebook while we were out because of the Global Wifi device I got from the Changi Recommends counter (available at all terminals in Changi Airport). Check out http://www.rentglobalwifi.com if you are like me and dislike having to purchase new SIM cards in your destination country and going through all the hassle of switching SIM cards.

With this wifi device, I just switch it on, then connect my handphone via wifi to have internet access. Super convenient. More about this device and current promotions in an upcoming post. It is late and I have to sleep now. 😉

But here’s a giveaway that will start on Tues (27 Jan) at 10am:

image

Just head to my facebook page (www.facebook.com/thegracetan) when the giveaway begins. 🙂

17 thoughts on “What To Do In Penang (Georgetown)

  1. Wow, Penanag is such a great place for retirement. With those sumptuous foods that you shared and wall art, I am indeed loving the place. It’s so cool! Your book, “Blogging For A Living” is sold on popular bookstore. I wonder if I can look for it in bookstore also here in the Phillipines. I will surely look for it next time I’ll drop by in a popular bookstore near my place.

  2. Dear Grace, I hope to win the heritage sticker set. Though i am from Malaysia, i never knew Penang has so much to offer 🙂 thanks so much for highlighting and making Penang famous 🙂 I will definitely make Penang my next holiday spot 🙂 Good luck everyone in this giveaway 🙂

  3. Wow this post intrigues me of Penang.. Someday I want to visit the place as well.
    I hope to win the postcards as I collect different postcards from different parts of the world this would be a great addition to my collection if I win.. 🙂

Comments are closed.