The Kata i4 – Better Than An iPhone?

Kata i4

I was highly amused as I unwrapped the new Kata i4. The white box it came in reminded me of Apple’s product packaging. And let’s not even discuss the name – i4.😀 As you probably already know, I’m not an Apple fan (oops!) and what I really want to know is whether this Kata i4 will make me a convert. I’m currently using the Samsung S5, and to borrow a phrase from McDonald’s, “I’m lovin’ it”.

First things first:

Kata i4 Samsung S5

The Kata i4 (on the left) is flatter than the Samsung S5, and just a little taller. I weighed both phones, and found that the Kata i4 weighs 163g, or a negligible 19g heavier than the S5, which weighs 144g.

And I usually use my smartphone for product shots, or at events, because I don’t like lugging a camera around with me. So I was definitely enticed by Kata i4’s 16 megapixel rear camera and 8MP front camera.

I’ve put together a few Sonny Angels, and taken the same ‘picture’ using both the Kata i4 and the Samsung S5:

Kata i4 Samsung S5

The two photos were taken without any camera flash. And as you can see, the image produced by the S5 is superior – vivid, brighter and with less obvious shadows…

Kata i4 Samsung S5

The reverse is true when I turn on the camera flash for both phones. This time round, the S5 gives a ‘harsher’ image while the Kata i4 gives me a photo that’s more pleasant to view:

Kata i4 Samsung S5

I also found that the images produced by the Kata i4 can easily be used on websites or retail sites as ‘product shots’. No need to hire a professional photographer or rent a studio! I can simply upload the picture to this blog, and start selling Sonny Angels!😀

Kata i4 Samsung S5

As for the 8MP front camera, you may have read online that it has a ‘Beauty Mode’ function (it’s nothing new, right?). BUT there is an awesome ‘Gesture Capture’ function. When you do the victory sign, the phone will automatically snap a picture of you. This function will come in very useful when taking group shots, or ‘wefies’! Just have one person hold up two fingers in the victory sign, and the shot will be taken! Perfect!😀 I’m just waiting to test this out. Group shot, anyone?


Other perks that come with the Kata i4 include FREE 35GB Online Storage (KataCloud), 32GB storage + 2GB RAM, and a 5.0 inch Super HD Display. I love phones with big screens!🙂

As for the pricing, it’s S$358. Get it online at Lazada:

To answer my own question of whether the Kata i4 is better than the iPhone (6)… I’d say the price makes it more affordable, for sure. A 16GB iPhone 6 costs S$988 while a 32GB Kata i4 costs S$358. It’s a no-brainer.

The iPhone 6 is lighter, has a smaller screen, and a less-attractive 1.2MP and 8MP cameras.

If you want to buy a new phone but you are put off by the price of iPhones, and don’t want to get a Samsung phone, then Kata might be a good choice.

I’d definitely like to see Kata phones in more colors please! Perhaps with a fingerprint identity sensor too!😀

To find out more about the Kata phones, head to their website HERE or their facebook page.

2 thoughts on “The Kata i4 – Better Than An iPhone?

Comments are closed.