Book Review plus Giveaway: Arianna Huffington’s ‘Thrive’

Arianna Huffington THRIVE

*Update* The winner of this giveaway is Nancy Wee! (Email sent)

I knew this would be a good read even before I got my hands on the book! After all, the author is none other than Arianna Huffington of Huffington Post fame. I have to say that this book does not disappoint, and I foresee myself reading it again and again.

This book really ‘speaks’ to me because it seems to know intimately some of the challenges I face. For instance, Arianna shares about how we need to redefine ‘Success’. Society dictates that you are successful when you have two things: Money and Power. However, these things are not what people remember you for when they attend your funeral wake, and not what goes into eulogies either!

Were you kind? Were you happy? Were you genuine? Were you a good friend? Were you a good daughter? Were you a joy to have around?

THESE are the things that go into eulogies. So why do we spend our lives chasing after Money and Power, when they ultimately do not matter?

Most of the time, I don’t care about these things. People tell me that I should be less happy now since I don’t earn the 6-figure income that I used to earn in a job before I turned to full-time blogging. I give these people a knowing smile while thinking that ho-ho, they know nothing about the 7-figure Happiness I enjoy now.

Also, I don’t feel the need to own a big house. The bf thinks we should apply for a 5-room flat, or a 4-room flat, at least. Because we are both NUS graduates and people would EXPECT us to be able to afford bigger flats even if it’s just the two of us living in it.

I usually look at him like he has gone insane when he says these things.

Give me a 3-room flat any time.

I don’t want a maid or any other person cleaning up after me in MY house. And I don’t want to spend all of my time cleaning a huge house either. I don’t need that much space, though admittedly I have many shoes, bags and books. (I’ll learn to live with less) I want a house just big enough for us, and requires very little time to clean and tidy up, so we can have more time for movies, date nights, traveling, hanging out with friends, blogging, enjoying life, etc.


If you judge me based on my choice of residence, instead of how I am as a person and as a friend, then just let me say that I don’t want to have anything to do with you. Because you evidently don’t know a thing about me.๐Ÿ™‚

Secondly, this book also shares about how society encourages people to work themselves to the bone. If you are busy, if you are working long hours, if you’re working overtime, if you are constantly on the phone and ‘closing deals’, people seem to think that’s a good thing. I guess this is because being busy implies that you are earning more money and striving to get more power – the two things that society values.

However, who cares about whether you have fed your soul? Who cares whether you are getting enough sleep or not? Who cares whether you are battling the effects of stress, depression or burnout? The truth is that no one cares. BUT, you had better start caring for yourself!

Like this book has mentioned, very few people are supportive of those who lead the 4-hour work week lifestyles. They look down on these people as being lazy buggers, good-for-nothing losers, or worse. In fact, most people don’t think that being a blogger is a profession. I have had everyone from teachers to advertisers question me on whether my full-time job is indeed ‘Blogging’ and whether that’s even a “real job” (their words, not mine).

No, it’s not a real job. It’s just a great job. And if you cannot appreciate it, thank goodness I can.๐Ÿ˜€

So, if you would like to know more about these weirdos like me, and about how to redefine Success on your own terms, and how to really THRIVE instead of just being good at what you are doing, then read this book. You will never regret it.

I’ve made a few notes of the tips which have leaped out at me:

Arianna Huffington THRIVE

Here are 5 of my favorites:

1) Work in 90-minute sprints

2) Train your mind to be still (so I did the drawing of a stick figure fishing with no bait on the fishing hook)

3) A ‘red light’ at the traffic junction is a reminder to you to BREATHE and enjoy the moment

4) Do the 10-finger gratitude exercise


Go ahead and grab a copy of this book wherever books are sold near you. It costs just S$27.99 before tax. Or take part in my giveaway…


To WIN a copy of this amazing book, leave a comment here and tell me what your profession is, and why you want to read this book.๐Ÿ˜€

7 thoughts on “Book Review plus Giveaway: Arianna Huffington’s ‘Thrive’

  1. I’m a professional speaker and I’ve been recommended to read this book by so many of my mentors. Why? Can’t just survive, need to thrive! But really, I’ve been a fan of Arianna Huffington and will love to learn from her insights and experiences as a fellow entrepreneur and author.

  2. Preach it! Agreed, why would you need a big house to look good in front of others? If you’re happy, I’d say, go for it! It is your life, after all๐Ÿ˜€ I love the notes you’ve picked out, especially point no.3 So many of us get caught up in work that we’ve forgotten to enjoy the little things.

  3. I am a creative director by profession and i happen to love reading books, Huffington Post and blogs like yours.

    It pays to ‘thrive’ and it does not hurt to learn some new ideas on how to thrive. Each time I do – and it does not matter whether i do it over and over again – it does makes me a better person than before. I become happier, more gracious and more confident in my outlook in life.

    I would love to have the book!!! I want to continue to thrive and pass the ‘thrive’ outlook to others.

  4. Im a counsellor/administrator and a fan of minimalistic living too. Like you, I do not believe in the mindless pursuit of materialism based on societal expectations and outsourcing of chores to others, at least for small families๐Ÿ™‚ I want to read this book because of the intimate sharing by Huffington and yourself and it will certainly be a good reference for a young professional like myself!

  5. I’m an internal auditor, and a father to Megan. After reading your review, I actually goggled to find out more about the book. The reason I did so was to make sure I’m genuinely interested to read the book, and not to go for the book simply because it was a giveaway (think Singaporeans’ penchant for lucky draws).

    Being in the workforce for (slightly over) 10 years, it’s not difficult to be caught in a rat race, and be overly driven by money. I personally believe reading this book will lead me to pause in my footstep, take a deep breath, and marvel at the wonderful view (be it the evening skies, high-rise skyscrapers, or children having fun at playgrounds). Most importantly, I wish to cherish my times with Megan, and the things that made her laugh (cause kids do grow up too quickly).

Comments are closed.