Freshen Food’s Ready-to-Drink Double-Boiled Soups :D

Freshen Food Singapore

This product (or rather, the idea of it) amuses me to no end. Who is the genius who came up with this idea of packaging double-boiled soups?! It’s brilliant! No need to labor over the stove for some soup anymore!😀

However, I’d have to say that this product still requires a bit more refining.

But first, here are the 3 soups I’ve tried. They were super easy to prepare – just open the bag, pour the soup into a small pot or saucepan, heat it up, and voila! You get a piping hot bowl of double-boiled goodness.

Carrot & Potato Chicken Soup 260g (S$5.95)

Freshen Food Singapore

Radish & Carrot Chicken Soup 260g (S$5.95)

Freshen Food Singapore

Lotus Root & Peanut Chicken Soup 260g (S$6.95) *This is my fav, and evidently, pricier. 

Freshen Food Singapore

The only reason I agreed to review these soups is because they don’t contain any of these ‘nasties’: MSG and preservatives.

They are all incredibly easy to prepare, but I really have to question the small serving size and who this product is targeted at.

The packet looks to be of a decent size but the contents weigh only 260g. That’s less than a can of Coke (at 330ml).

I’m a big fan of home-brewed soups, and my mother usually cooks a big pot of soup. This product from Freshen Food doesn’t seem to weigh up. It fills about 40% of my ‘soup bowl’. So… would I purchase this product on my own? My straightforward answer is ‘No’. Not till it’s in a bigger serving size. I’m not on a supermodel’s diet!😀

*Alternatively, Freshen Food could make their soups more concentrated in flavor by reducing it down, so consumers can add more water to the mix when reheating it at home.

So… who do I think will buy this product?

1) Erm… MINDEF? So NSmen can have a taste of home when out in the jungles? After all, you’ll just need a fire to heat up this soup. No other preparation required.

2) Social workers? This would be a great product for old folks who live on their own, need the nourishment but are unable to cook these soups from scratch.

3) Parents who don’t have the time to cook for their ‘latchkey kids’. At least those kiddos will be able to enjoy some nourishing soup after all the hamburgers and fries.

4) Insurance agents. For their clients who have been hospitalized. It’s a more interesting gift compared to the inedible flowers, fruit, and (too many) bottles of essence of chicken.

5) Any woman who wants to impress the future mother-in-law, but cannot cook to save her own life. Hahaha! (*Remember to add some pepper and a bit more salt to avoid being told your soup is bland)

6) Busy urbanites who want to enjoy soups without all the added MSG and seasonings.


Get this product at FairPrice Finest, FairPrice Xtra and NTUC Fairprice🙂