Final Blogging Workshop For Q1, 2015 – Sign Up Now!

Blogging Workshop

I concluded the final ‘Intermediate’ workshop for this quarter today. There’s still a ‘Beginners’ workshop happening next week – 14th March 3pm to 5pm. Click HERE for more details.πŸ˜€ I don’t have workshops planned for April yet as it seems to be a busy month, with a speaking engagement overseas. And I’m also planning for blogging workshops in Malaysia – since my book ‘Blogging For A Living’ is being sold there, why not ya?πŸ˜‰

Today’s session was too much fun… such that one student (Monica) gave me feedback that she wishes the session was longer.πŸ˜€ By the way, it was all of 2 hours plus a bit more already.

Blogging Workshop

I also enjoy having my ex-students come back for a ‘refresher’ too, as blogging in a group is generally a lot more fun than blogging alone. Also, if you’ve lost the momentum for blogging, it’s always good to attend a ‘refresher’ and get back into the groove.

We had a short discussion about ‘Writer’s Block’ today and I’d like to share with you some of the tips which came out of this session:

1) Commitment – Decide once and for all that you are going to blog for ‘x’ times a week and STICK to it. When I first started this blog, my commitment (to everyone, but most importantly, to myself) was that a new post would be uploaded every Friday at 5am. It really helps when you commit to blogging, like you commit to bathing or brushing your teeth. There is no room for negotiation – it just HAS to be done.

2) Accountability Partner – Have someone hold you accountable for the number of posts you say you will do. I am the Accountability Partner for some of my students, i.e. I will kick their ass and nag them to death if they don’t do what they say they will do.πŸ˜€ Of course, I don’t offer my ‘services’ to everyone because I do pick the people I want to mentor. #brutalfactoflife

3) Schedule Posts – When you are super inspired, craft as many blogposts as you can, and schedule them for uploading, say, every two days. Thus, it might seem that you are very consistent in uploading blogposts when actually you did it all when inspired. Smart, eh?πŸ˜‰

Apart from countering writer’s block, we also discussed Blog Monetization, did a little activity (hehe!) and engaged in some healthy blog critique.

We probably had so much fun that Time just flew past, but 2 hours is really all I can spare without tiring myself out. Contrary to popular belief, I am actually introverted. Spending time with people drains me of energy. Spending time alone, with a book or what not, helps me recharge. So you get the best of me in 2 hours.πŸ˜€

To join me for my next workshop, simply do a bank transfer of S$275 to posb savings 126-85658-0 and drop me an email at gracewwg [at] gmail [dot] com. More details HERE.

blogging workshop

One thought on “Final Blogging Workshop For Q1, 2015 – Sign Up Now!

  1. I had loads of fun too! Thank you so much for the invaluable tips and critique. I’ve taken your pointers and improved on the blog post we wrote for the exercise. In fact, I’m hunting for an accountability partner for myself now. And I totally get what you mean. While I don’t seem like it, I too am an introvert at heart. I’m a trained extrovert. (to everyone else) If you’re still deliberating on whether to attend Grace’s workshop, my advice – don’t deliberate, just go for it!

Comments are closed.