Would You Pay S$260 For An airweave Pillow?

airweave singapore

I attended the official launch event of the airweave futon earlier this week, and was given the airweave pillow you see above as a gift. It also happens to cost S$260. *gulp* Gracing the event that day was the gorgeous Paula Creamer, the golfer who won last year’s HSBC Women’s Champions. (Sadly, after this event, she did not go on to defend her title, losing out on the US$1.4million prize)

[ Paula, Mr Takaoka and the media folks😀 ]

airweave paula creamer

This company ‘airweave’ was founded in 2004 by Mr Motokuni Takaoka who was inspired by his uncle’s company which made injection moulding machines to produce fishing lines and nets. The 3-dimensional resin fibres in the airweave products helps you to “turn over easily whilst sleeping and promotes a deeper sleep”

airweave singapore

Also, it “helps to dissipate heat and moisture generated by the body during sleep…[and] helps keep you cool in the summer and warm in the winter.” The cover is machine-washable while the core can be rinsed with water.

My old pillow (which probably cost less than S$20) and the S$260 airweave pillow:

airweave singapore

The Verdict: I slept on the airweave pillow for one night, and woke up not noticing very much of a difference. My old pillow is more ‘squishy’ and I’m obviously more used to sleeping on it than on the airweave which is firmer and offers more ‘bounce’. The airweave doesn’t get as warm as regular pillows so I guess it is great for people who are bedridden, whether in hospitals or otherwise. I’ll need to spend more time with this pillow before I can tell if I’ll shell out S$260 for one. The boyfriend borrowed it for a night too and did not notice any difference in sleep quality. Perhaps it takes time.

There are also other airweave products. This next picture contains the pricing of the individual items. They are available at Isetan Scotts (Level 4) and at Takashimaya (B1).

airweave singapore pricing


5 thoughts on “Would You Pay S$260 For An airweave Pillow?

    • Alamak. I’ll say it’s good only if I really believe it is good lah.😀 Let me try sleeping on it for a few more nights.😀

Comments are closed.