Gion Dining Japanese Cuisine at Royal Plaza on Scotts

When I was told that we were going for an 11-course Japanese dinner at Royal Plaza on Scotts, home to the famous buffet restaurant Carousel, I was skeptical about how the meal for 2 cost only S$48. You see, I’m not the biggest fan of Groupon deals because the low prices can sometimes translate into not-so-good customer service or food quality.

However, Gion did not disappoint. I love the sashimi, the silky smooth chawanmushi (you have gotta try it!) and the chicken katsu which is UNBELIEVABLY tender and juicy! I’m a big fan of Japanese cuisine, and I have to say I’m impressed by Gion Dining. I don’t know what are the usual prices they charge, but the Groupon deals are definitely value-for-money.

The sashimi – YUMZ. And I like how they piped out the wasabi 😀

Gion Dining

The salad was good (even the dressing!). I liked the potato salad. But the best part has to be the chawanmushi. It looks unassuming but it is so silky smooth, like no chawanmushi I have ever eaten before. Thumbs up!

Gion Dining

The sushi was good though I didn’t like the fish as much because there were so many bones!

Gion Dining

Prawn tempura – nothing to shout about. However, the chicken katsu is amazeballs! It’s really good! You have to try it! 😀

Gion Dining

I’m not a fan of cold noodles… so I didn’t eat much of these:

Gion Dining

Fruits to end the meal. No ice cream but it is ok.

Gion Dining

And that sums up our 11-course meal for two. 🙂 There is a lunch deal too so you can head over to Groupon if you want to purchase the S$9.90 deal.

Groupon Gion Dining

Just go to Groupon’s website and seach for ‘Gion’. (I’m not sure when this deal’s gonna end)

I also received a Gion Dining ‘Fidelity Card’ after the meal. With the card, I can get 30% discount off set meals and 50% discount off à la carte items. Yup, I’ll be back again soon.

Gion Dining

Address:

25 Scotts Road, #02-01

