Book Review: Daughters Of Eve by Lois Duncan

Daughters of Eve by Lois Duncan

If you’ve watched the movie “I Know What You Did Last Summer”, you might be familiar with author Lois Duncan. Her book ‘Daughters Of Eve’ was published in 1979 and updated in 2011. It’s quite a page-turner and it’s one of those books I’d happily forego sleep for so as to find out what happens in the next chapter. LOL. Needless to say, I was done reading the book pretty quick –  in just 2 sittings.😀

Here’s a summary: “A high school teacher uses the guise of feminist philosophy to manipulate the lives of a group of girls with chilling results”.

This book covers so many topics: sisterhood, loyalty, the mob mentality, sexism, revenge, love vs lust, dreams, relationships, divorces, domestic violence, etc. But revenge seems to be the main one – as you can see on the cover, it states “All for one and revenge for all”.

In some cases, I’d have to say that the revenge exacted was pretty satisfying, such as with Peter. The way he got ambushed, had all his bodily hair removed, and the word ‘SLUT’ carved into the back of his head… it all kind of made up for the way he callously toyed with Laura’s feelings, used her body and ruthlessly dumped her.

Then it gets darker and darker.

And you, the reader, are left wondering when it’ll all stop and what will be left at the end of it.

Indeed, it’s as one of the testimonial-givers shares:

“Lois Duncan’s thrillers have a timeless quality about them. They are good stories, very well told, that also happen to illuminate both the heroic and dark parts of growing up” – Marc Talbert, author of Dead Birds Singing, etc

I don’t know if you do the same but I love to read books (literally) from cover to cover. I read the testimonials given by other authors (You really should check out those on Ellen DeGeneres’ book as they were all written by her. LOL) and I read too the author’s Bio page to find out more about the person who wrote the book. Lois’ is particularly interesting, as I’ve indicated below:

Daughters of Eve Lois Duncan

Lois and her husband, Don, have five children. And among the many novels that Lois has written is a book titled ‘Who Killed My Daughter?” which is about the true story of the murder of Kaitlyn Arquette, the youngest of Lois’ children, on July 16, 1989 . You can find out more about this still-unsolved homicide at

It’s true – I don’t quite know what to say about this. May all rest in peace.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Daughters Of Eve by Lois Duncan

  1. I adore Lois Duncan’s books! I enjoyed Daughters of Eve🙂 My other favourites include: The Third Eye, Killing Mr Griffin and Stranger With My Face.

Comments are closed.