Review: The Walking Dead Season 6 Episode 1


When he told me that The Walking Dead (Season 6) is premiering tonight, I went ‘ok, I’m coming over now!”😀

Not sure if there’s a change of director but the style of storytelling is different. The last episode of Season 5 was some time back… and I’d already needed some refreshing of my memory…

But episode 1 of season 6 nearly left me baffled with the constant cutting back and forth, past and present, color TV and black-and-white.

But wow! Nothing is more scary than seeing an entire valley FILLED with walkers (as you see in the picture above).

*Stop reading right now if you don’t want any spoilers!*

I like watching The Walking Dead because besides being gory (sometimes) and scary (a lot of the time, especially in all the first episodes), the show provokes thought on what it means to be human, and how humans can be expected to react in unexpected ways.

This first episode ends with a cliffhanger but I’d hazard a guess that one cannot kill a father without killing the son too ‘cos thoughts of revenge will always be running through the kid’s mind. (Let’s find out if I’m right or not in the next episode)

Also… I’m wondering why a builder is allowed to be at the head of the line “shepherding” the walkers. He’s not even a fighter or alert to his surroundings. And screaming his head off while his face is being ripped out… well… how come no one expected this to happen?!

Unfortunately, if the past seasons of The Walking Dead are to be referenced, the next episode is likely not going to be as exciting as tonight’s. But I’m happy to be proven wrong.🙂

Will you be watching The Walking Dead with me next Monday at 9pm? (FOXHD, CH330)