Tsukada Nojo: Famous For Beauty Collagen Hot Pots

Tsukada Nojo

I’ve recently blogged about the excellent service staff at Big O Cafe & Restaurant (click on the link to read), and today, I had lunch at Tsukada Nojo at Chinatown Point and AGAIN experienced good service! Either service standards are rising across the island or there’s some serious Law Of Attraction at work.🙂  For some reason, the name ‘Tsukada Nojo’ is quite hard for Singaporeans to remember so my pals always tell me about this hot pot place with a special beauty broth (美人鍋) that will supposedly give me great skin. How does one say ‘no’ to that?

I think it costs S$25++ or so per pax. At lunch today, I ordered their ramen, which I suppose comes with the same collagen broth. Their “beauty collagen stock” is made using organic chicken from Japan. The chicken is stewed for more than 8 hours till the chicken bones dissolve. The restaurant also uses organic vegetables sourced from a farm in Singapore.

When it comes to collagen broths, nothing beats the Kyushu Jangara Ramen I had in Japan. My goodness! That broth is to-die-for. It frustrates me to no end wondering why even fast food in Japan can sometimes taste way better than food served in some other restaurants in Singapore. WHY?! Is it the chef’s dedication to his craft? Is it the Japanese people’s patience in awaiting good food that may sometimes take a while longer to prepare? Is it the appreciation that customers show to the chefs in Japan (such as by slurping up those noodles loudly)?

What is it?!

I have not figured it out yet, but maybe one day I will.

Meanwhile, I have to say that the collagen broth at Tsukada Nojo is good – maybe not great like in Japan, but it’s tasty enough. Anyway, just keep chanting “Collagen, collagen, COLLAGEN” in your head and you’ll finish every last drop.😀

As mentioned earlier, the staggeringly high standards when it comes to food in Japan could be due to the Japanese chefs’ dedication to putting out only the best and the Japanese customers’ way of patiently awaiting their food, but there’s nothing I can do about that.

What I can do, though, is to highlight good service whenever I spot it, and hopefully it spurs the whole team on to greater heights.

Here’s the feedback I sent to Tsukada Nojo via their website:

Tsukada Nojo staff

The restaurant has, in my opinion, done well in two aspects:

  1. Enthusiastic welcomes: When a customer steps into the restaurant, welcomes are shouted out by the staff member who spots him/her, and then echoed by the rest of the staff. (I think it also helps in staff morale and team spirit, because they are doing something together, i.e. extending a warm welcome to customers)
  2. Staff who engage customers in conversation: Because I was dining alone, I did not feel comfortable with asking my server for his name. (But I found that out anyway near the cashier counter as there are pictures of the staff together with their names. Hehe) I believe it was Keta who served me – he came round to ask if I’d enjoyed the meal and whether the broth was too rich (I said it was almost on par with those in Japan… didn’t want to hurt his feelings). But the broth was good, ok. As he cleared the table and I finished up the refill of my hot Japanese tea, he told me (before he left for the kitchen) to have a nice day in case I’d left the restaurant before he returned. How lovely!


So there you go… my recommendation of a Japanese restaurant if you want to dine at Chinatown Point. For really good zhi char style dishes, head to the basement – there’s one fantastic one and all you need to do is look out for the crowd. (I forgot the name of the place. Ha!) But don’t you forget to compliment staff and let the management know too, ok?🙂