Giveaway: Lost Ocean Coloring Book by Johanna Basford

Lost Ocean by Johanna Basford

Pop by any bookstore now and you’ll probably find displays full of coloring books for adults. Who would have thought this would be a craze, right?! Coloring books are usually for kids who, more often that not, insist on coloring outside of those lines just to see if the adults get upset. Heh heh.

Apparently, these coloring books are supposed to help adults enjoy some quiet time, explore their creative side, relax, and have some fun. I’m having a bit of trouble with it.

It all began when I flipped through those pages and wondered ‘Wow! That’s A LOT of coloring I have to do’. Then the brainwave: whatย if I outsource the coloring to folks around me?๐Ÿ˜€

And so I told my younger sister that she has one hour (yes, ONE hour) to complete coloring this page. She took the challenge but couldn’t help muttering halfway through the task that “This is not relaxing at all”. Who can blame her, really?๐Ÿ˜›

And this is what she did:

Lost Ocean Johanna Basford

I’ve yet to find more unwitting victims to be forced into coloring. Hehe. But I will.

Jokes aside, I do think that the intricate drawings are pretty amazing. In Lost Ocean, you are also invited to look for some hidden objects within the pages, e.g. 10 crowns, 10 keys, 7 gold bars, etc.

It’s like a form of creative meditation once you are able to get into the zone.

And it also helps you get to know yourself better. For instance, I get frustrated by broken color pencils and the repetition of a single color in two spots in close proximity. But I guess practice makes perfect.

Here’s my work in progress:

Johanna Basford Lost Ocean

According to a Straits Times report, Scottish illustrator Johanna Basford went from “struggling to make ends meet” to selling 15 million copies of her coloring books worldwide! She invites people to “pause and wonder” in order to find the hidden treasure scattered within the pages of Lost Ocean.๐Ÿ™‚ It’s “therapeutic” for many too. [Read the ST article here:ย]

~ FB Community for Adults who love Coloring Books ~

Go ahead and join for contests, updates and more๐Ÿ™‚



21 thoughts on “Giveaway: Lost Ocean Coloring Book by Johanna Basford

  1. Personally I’ve always thought that there should be colouring books for adults when my daughter was in nursery and K1 but then hey.. she’s awesome๐Ÿ™‚ but i don’t really find her colouring her books therapeutic nor relaxing coz her books have way toooo much stuff going on. her imagination is simply incredible lah๐Ÿ™‚ id rather facebook or just snuggle down and read. however, These books have made it much easier for me to decide what’s best to get for Christmas for friends as xmas presents..๐Ÿ™‚ and like you said even even popular has got into the act by including such colouring pages in their annual diaries :)) thanks for the competition share and the lobang too :)) fingers crossed :))

    • OMG… the sheer number of coloring books (for adults) in Popular bookstores is staggering lah. And yes, keep those fingers crossed. Winner announcement… I dunno when. 10 entries later~

  2. Wow I love colouring! In fact my mom bought me a cat colouring book cos she’s been seeing me paint Wallace’s bday present and the current unfinished Snow Queen, haha! I just need good colour pencils now! Which brand would you recommend?๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Ah hah! My wife wanted to get this and I baulked at the price tag at the back! I even “helpfully” offered to print some off the internet for her to colour. As you may have predicted, she’s not amused. Hahaha!

  4. Miss those colouring time when i was a kid ! And even until now, i still love doing hand-made cards, design some creativity out of the box for my friends, family & loved ones. Because i believe colours brings happiness ! And i really love doing it ! And these book seems a great present for Christmas !๐Ÿ˜€ Allowing us to think out of the box , for great creativity and imagination ! ~โค

  5. I still remember how i used to love drawing and colouring when i was a kid. Art is my favourite hobby till now. And it seems like , this allow all ages to come out of your thinking box, with your creativity to colour something unique & with your imagination! This is like a perfect Christmas gift for all ! I still love doing colouring and handmade cards for occasions ! And this is one of that attracted me๐Ÿ™‚

  6. TGIF.. Let’s show our care & concern to our friends.. Sharing great contest again! Hurry do so now! simple Steps & stand a chance to win.
    โ™ก LIKED & SHAREDโ™ก Love to color during my free time with my kiddo is not around๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Awww this looks awesome..
    I promise to share with my darlings..
    but this is really great destressing activity..

Comments are closed.