Waterway Point: The New Mall Worth Going All The Way To Punggol For :D

Waterway Point The Plaza

This is the mall I have waited over 10 years for! (And it’s not even an exaggeration) My family moved to Punggol over a decade ago. At that time, it was still possible to cross the roads without looking out for cars (oops), now we have this interesting phenomenon called ‘traffic jams’. Back then, it was open fields as far as the eye can see once you exit Punggol MRT station. And Punggolians LONGED for the day we can have our own mall and a decent Punggol central for us to wine, dine and shop at. And that day has arrived (18th January 2016) with the opening of Waterway Point. *woohoo*

Not 100% of tenants are ready for business, but the crowds simply do not care:

Waterway Point Punggol

The friend I met for lunch here described the parking situation as “pandemonium”. So do take the train, especially if you’re visiting Punggol Waterway this weekend! The mall is located just next to the train station so it’s absolutely convenient for you to visit, really.๐Ÿ™‚

Getting into the carpark will take a while:

Waterway Point carpark

Waterway Point has two wings – East and West – ย so do check out the online store directory if you want to plan your visit and know which stores will be open. *Link at the end of this blogpost.


I’m adding one more awesome reason why parents with kids should visit! The indoor playground called ‘Wonderland’.ย Read more here: Indoor Playground at Waterway Pointย :)

Waterway Point playground location

Waterway Point indoor playground


Here are 6 reasons why you should pop by Waterway Point, even if *gasp* you stay in Jurong:

#1: 24-hour Fairprice Finest

Correction: Shaw Theatres is not open 24 hours, as I’d originally thought. Encountered a miscommunication somewhere. Shaw is only open as “per-normal to our other cinemas with midnight shows only on Friday night and Saturday night (eve of public holidays)” Please note!๐Ÿ™‚

Shaw Theatres is at B2-11 *Officially opens on 21st Jan 2016*

Waterway Point Shaw Cinema

FairPrice Finest is at West Wing, B2-32 (Open 24hrs!)

Waterway Point Fairprice Finest

*Perhaps there are even more stores which will be open 24 hours, which I don’t know about yet. Will update this post later when I find out.๐Ÿ™‚

Even BurgerUp is open till midnight, and 3am on some days. Check out my blogpost here.

It seems this is one mall which suspects Punggolians do not sleep. When I need some snacksย in the middle of the night (maybe for a midnight movie, hehe), I know where to go. *wink*

#2: H&M (no further elaboration needed) & TWO levels of shopping fun!

Waterway Point HandM

H&M is not open yet! It’ll open on 28th January (Thursday) at 12 noon. So mark your calendars. There’ll be the usual freebies galore, and as can be expected, a horde of eager shoppers queuing outside the store. I bet someone will queue overnight. ‘Cos that’s the thing to do when a new H&M store opens, didn’t you know?๐Ÿ˜‰

#3: Wide Open Spaces & Fabulous Views Of The Punggol Waterway

Waterway Point Punggol Waterway

I love malls, yes, and shopping too! But what I love more is stepping out into the open, forย fresh air and great views that make me forget I’m in Singapore. This is possible only at Waterway Point, I believe.๐Ÿ™‚

It’s a great place for families to hang out, which I’m sure Frasers Centrepoint Malls knows. Punggol is home to many families with young children so I expect there’ll be plenty of fun spots for kids to run, play, and have a splash. Hehe. I can’t wait for the mall to be fully open. There are still many shops I did not get to visit today.

Waterway Point The Cove water fountain

#4: A HUGE Daiso Store, and an Enormous Times bookstore (Instagrammable!!!)

Times bookstore is at #02-19:

Waterway Point Times bookstore

Daiso is at #B1-09

Waterway Point Daiso

I’m a Daiso fan. Not exactly a fanatic (I know some Singaporeans are) but I love the low S$2 pricetag on everything. Hehe. This Daiso store at Waterway Point is pretty big. I did a quick walkabout but didn’t want to join the queue.

The Times bookstore is less crowded (why do people not love bookstores as much as I do?!) but has really cool, instagrammable spots. Take this reading corner for kids, for instance. It has cool ladybird cushions for your kiddos to chill out on:

Waterway Point bookstore

Waterway Point Times

#5: Interesting Food Outlets I Have Yet To Visit (But I Will. Soon)

Waterway Point restaurants

From left: Kuriya Japanese Market (B1-20), Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh (B1-23) and Social Square by MOF (01-26) are some of them. There’s even an Uncle Leong Signatures restaurant at B1-21, which is not open yet. I spotted some workers doing the renovation for the outlet. There’s also a BurgerUp outlet at B2-06 which serves interesting burgers such as one Herbalicious Beef Burger. OMG. I wonder how that tastes! *UPDATE: Check out my review of BurgerUPย by clicking on the link.๐Ÿ™‚ And here’s my review of Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh too.๐Ÿ™‚

#6: BANKS – All Next To Each Other!

Waterway Point mall

The picture above shows the amazingly long queue on level 2 – shoppers were all lining up to redeem freebies from the mall: umbrellas, and a lucky draw chance, I believe.๐Ÿ™‚

There is a section of the mall (on level 1) reserved for banks. I found this pretty awesome. Only Maybank was open when I visited. They definitely have first movers advantage in signing up new customers among the young crowd which stays at Punggol and will be visiting the mall. OCBC will be right next to Maybank, followed by POSB. And Citibank and Bank of China outlets will be right opposite them. Apparently there’s UOB too, at 01-01.

I’m sure there are many more reasons to visit Waterway Point, and I’ll certainly share about them soon. We FINALLY have a mall here in Punggol!!! Definitely cause for celebration.๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

UPDATE: I put together this quick guide to help you navigate Waterway Point like a pro!๐Ÿ˜€

Waterway Point Store Directory Guide

*Read this blogpost for more information on getting to Waterway Point in the fastest, most direct way possible, w/o having to cross any roads.

Here’s the Store Directory for you to find out which stores are open currently:ย http://waterwaypoint.fraserscentrepointmalls.com/store.php?CategoryID=594

To find out more about the latest happenings and promotions at Waterway Point, do ‘like’ their Facebook Page here:ย https://www.facebook.com/fcm.waterwaypoint/?fref=ts

** If you have a toddler, make sure you bring your lil prince / princess to check out the indoor playground at Waterway Point. Read this post regarding the exact location and opening hours of the playground at Waterway Point.๐Ÿ™‚

Waterway Point playground butterfly

~~ See You Around! ~~

4 thoughts on “Waterway Point: The New Mall Worth Going All The Way To Punggol For :D

  1. I saw the update too late! Actually wanted to buy advanced ticket and realised they are closed/not opened. Haha. But thanks for the helpful write up.

    Oh mcdonalds is 24hrs:)

    • Paiseh paiseh. Please accept my apologies. Yes, the cinema will only be open 21st Jan. Now it’s only giving out free tickets (in the morning to Waterway Point shoppers, and in the evening to SAFRA members). It’s still the Open House period now. Thanks! Noted about McD๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.