Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh @ Waterway Point: Sweet, Not Peppery

Waterway Point Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh

I had an early dinner around 4 plus today at Waterway Point, because I wanted to avoid the mealtime crowds at lunchtime and also at dinnertime. I had supper at BurgerUP yesterday and because there were so many customers, our food took a while to be served, and it wasn’t actually warm either. Today’s early dinner at Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh was enjoyable. I could easily get a table though I was dining alone. And I enjoyed my bak kut teh in peace.🙂 If you’re heading to Waterway Point this weekend, be prepared for the crowds ok. My suggestion would be to avoid visiting the mall during mealtimes – 12 noon to 2pm, and 5pm to 8pm.

As you can see in the picture above, my order of their Pork Ribs Soup (S$7.50 for a regular portion *There’s also a Large portion at S$9.50) came with three pieces of pork ribs. And there was one small piece of garllic. I would have loved if there was more garlic. Hehe!😀

The broth itself is sweet. I can barely taste any pepper. I’m sure you’ve tried bak kut teh at other establishments before – it’s a fiery, peppery broth which makes you break out in sweat by the time you’re halfway through the meal, no? Here at Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh, the broth is sweet. I found that pretty interesting.

The menu is printed on the placemat:

Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh Punggol Waterway Point

*There are more items listed on the order form so do read it carefully

The Premium Loin Ribs bak kut teh (S$9.90 / S$11.90) which they are famous for was not available during my visit. I’d love to come by again soon to try it. What’s the difference between the premium and non-premium versions? Hmm. Will have to find out another day. Also, I thought the Lychee Red Tea (S$5.50) might taste good but since it is served in a tea pot, I’ll leave it for another day when I have a dining companion. I had a cup of their homemade barley (S$2) today. It was not too sweet at all, and I liked that there’s barley at the bottom of the cup to chew on.🙂

I’m not too sure about the idea of printing the menu on the placemats. People tend to leave the pork bones behind on those placemats, which means the staff have to clear the soiled placemats after each diner leaves, then replace it with a new one. If Rong Hua used little table standees or traditional food menus which can be reused again and again, and staff cleaned each table with the wipe of a tablecloth, I think the company will see a considerable increase in cost savings. Plus it’s more environmentally friendly.

Waterway Point Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh menu

Service-wise, I think staff can be a little more proactive in offering to top up the soup in our bowls without being asked to. Then the dining experience would be near perfect. The initial bowl of soup was served at a temperature slightly above ‘lukewarm’, but the (free) top-up was steaming hot just the way I like my bak kut teh!😀 Because I had visited before 4.30pm, when there were quite a few vacant tables, I’d expected a bit more in terms of customer service.🙂

If you’re popping by Waterway Point and want to dine here, note that Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh is at B1 of the East Wing (in front of BEST Denki and M1). The unit number is B1-23. Tel: 6358 8765.

~ Update ~

Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh Smoked Duck

[ Pic Credit: Max ]

My pal had dinner here too, and told me that the smoked duck is pretty good. (Now I’m hungry) He also commented that their tofu dish is a little bit too salty. I’ll have to try them myself.🙂

2 thoughts on “Rong Hua Bak Kut Teh @ Waterway Point: Sweet, Not Peppery

  1. Lucky you! I was there just now about 8.45pm and joined the queue and when i was almost going to have a seat, they told us and many others who queued for at least 15mins that they ran out. Poor queue management and not sincere in apologising for not stopping the queue earlier.

    • No no, not lucky. I planned it. Go during the off peak hours around 3pm to 445pm. I guess the management didn’t expect the overwhelming response. There are just too many people swarming the mall after they knock off from work.

Comments are closed.