Babette Restaurant & Bar: Worth A Visit With A Groupon Voucher

Babette Sashimi Salad

Happy Valentine’s Day, y’all!๐Ÿ˜€ He and I had an enjoyable Valentine’s Day lunch at Babette Restaurant & Bar, located at 165 Tyrwhitt Road (Parc Sovereign Hotel). I have to admit: I usually view his Groupon purchases with suspicion because there tend to be more misses than hits. But even established and very popular restaurants like Dancing Crab and others under the Tung Lok Group also offer discounts on Groupon, so you never know when you’ll discover a gem. Babette’s menu and posters feature their sashimi salad (S$17), so I absolutely had to order it. You see it in the picture above. And dessert had to be their self-proclaimed “legendary” Matcha Lava Cake (S$12.80). What about the rest of the meal? Read on…๐Ÿ™‚

Just before putting this blogpost together, I read Daniel Food Diary’s review of Babette. Apparently there are other mains we should have ordered. But I read Daniel’s review too late lah. I didn’t know this restaurant-cum-bar was opened by a DJ, you see.

Anyway, here’s what my date ordered: Chilli Crab Pasta (S$18)…

Babette Chilli Crab Pasta

It features a deep-fried soft shell crab and well-cooked pasta, in a slightly chili crab-tasting sauce which is overpowered by the taste of ginger. Just one mouthful of the pasta and I asked him why it tastes more of ginger than anything else. He had no answer for me. And as usual, we do not return food to kitchens because we don’t want food to come back with any foreign substances, if you get what I mean. We just ate it all… together.

I ordered the Wagyu Beef Bourguignon with Japanese rice (S$18) because I thought that anything with “wagyu beef” in the name should be pretty awesome. Well… I don’t think I got it right this time. I like the poached egg and the garlic. But the beefballs could do with a bit of seasoning, and require a special touch for added texture (I dunno, add diced water chestnut, maybe??). I suppose the chef felt that the stew itself would be salty enough so the meatballs don’t have to be seasoned so much. But I would prefer it otherwise. I like the shredded seaweed on the rice though.๐Ÿ™‚

Babette Wagyu Beef Bourguignon

As for the dessert… WOW. Ok, now I know why they claim it’s legendary. I really like the vanilla ice cream topped with azuki red beans and a (tasty) chocolate decorative piece on top. The lava cake itself features a green tea infused white chocolate fondant dusted with green tea powder on top. And when you cut it open… yes, it flows!๐Ÿ˜€ Unlike the usual chocolate lava cakes though, it’s green and gooey inside. LOL. Very different from other lava cakes I’ve eaten… and it’s probably the biggest one I’ve had so far. A recent one I ate at Miam Miam was so tiny that I really didn’t want to share it with him. Oops.

S$12.80 Matcha Lava Cake:

Babette Matcha Lava Cake

With regard to F&B services standards, though, I have some recommendations for all F&B operators and staff:

  1. Offer iced or warm water to customers, even before they ask you for it. I spotted a waiter coming round with a tumbler of iced water to refill the cups for the couple seated at another table. He noticed that the rest of the surrounding tables did not have water mugs on them so he returned the tumbler to its spot and that was it. No asking us whether we would like some water too. Score some points for initiative next time!๐Ÿ™‚
  2. It is a bit rude to (loudly) announce the amount on the bill, unless your customers cannot see very well. In most restaurants I’ve been to, the waiter just hands the bill discreetly to the customer who is paying for it, and everyone else at the table has no idea how much the meal costs. Today, unfortunately, everyone at the tables next to usย heard him. LOL.

(*Will be back, when there’s a Groupon again :P)

Babette is at 165 Tyrwhitt Road (within Parc Sovereign Hotel). Tel: 6341 7727.