FUJIFILM Makes Skincare Products. Bet You Didn’t Know That! ;)

When I first heard that FUJIFILM has a skincare line for women, I was like ‘HUH?! What? HOW??!!’ And the tale of how this happened is somewhat magical. Like its competitor, Kodak, FUJIFILM could (reasonably) have been expected to fade into oblivion as people ditched film for digital photography. However, as its revenue from its camera film business hit (near) rock bottom, FUJIFILM was diversifying and exploring other sources of revenue, such as from cosmetics. And its beauty brand is called… ASTALIFT :)

Astalift White product range

Interestingly enough, 50% of camera film is made of collagen, or so I was told during the media launch.

“Film is a bit like skin: both contain collagen. Just as photos fade because of oxidation, cosmetics firms would like you to think that skin is preserved with anti-oxidants. In Fujifilm’s library of 200,000 chemical compounds, some 4,000 are related to anti-oxidants. So the company launched a line of cosmetics, called Astalift, which is sold in Asia and is being launched in Europe this year.” – The Eonomist, 2012

ASTALIFT was launched in Japan in 2007 and in Singapore in 2011. The press release I received also stated that FUJIFILM “reformulated the ASTALIFT anti-ageing skincare series in 2013… (and) now delivers two of nature’s most powerful antioxidants, nano-Lycopene and Astaxanthin in high concentration via nanotechnology”.


*Lycopene is found in tomatoes and fruit like watermelon and pink guava. It is a powerful antioxidant that helps protect cells from damage. Likewise, Astaxanthin can be found in salmon, lobster and other seafood, and when applied to the skin, can offer protection against sunburn. [These nuggets of information are from webmd.com]

** Exercise caution regarding use of these products if you are pregnant. Consult your doctor first!


From a business perspective, it is interesting to note how FUJIFILM pulled ahead of its competitors and continues to thrive. Many people credit FUJIFILM’s leadership team for having the foresight and gumption to venture into new markets. As for me, I think it’s brilliant in its simplicity: leverage on existing know-how and resources, and put out new products people desire. Genius!

“Kodak’s monopoly was the problem … It always believed it had a God-given right to 100% of the market,” he says. “It never bothered to look over its shoulder at what was coming up from behind.” Instead, Kodak relied on its brand. – The Economist

I highly recommend that you click on the links I’ve included, and read the two articles from The Economist. You’ll gain lots of insight.🙂


ASTALIFT Ambassador: Belinda Lee

In Singapore, ASTALIFT has entered a second partnership with Belinda, following her appointment as the ambassador of the FUJIFILM X series of digital cameras in May 2015. I find this extremely intriguing, as I’ve been looking up to Belinda for the longest time possible for being such a role model in defying beauty trends – when celebrities are slapping on sunscreen, and hiding behind massive sunglasses and UV-blocking umbrellas, she is out getting a tan while filming travelogues. Unfortunately, I’ve been told that Belinda is currently unavailable for interview. Anyway, I have done a review of Belinda’s new book ‘Larger Than Life‘. <- Click to read.

Products Launched on 1st March 2016:

Astalift White Perfect UV Clear Solution

#1: ASTALIFT White Perfect UV Clear Solution

I’ve probably said this on my blog multiple times: I really dislike sunblock. Many brands produce sunblock that is rather ‘heavy’, oily or sticky. This one from ASTALIFT has SPF 50+ and PA++++. It offers pretty good coverage, I’d say.

ASTALIFT says this sunblock offers UV protection against DEEP UVA and also doubles up as a make-up base. It is way more interesting than many other brands because it comes with a special UV censor cap that changes color when exposed to Deep UVA. The intention is to alert users to the presence of invisible UV rays. Sounds pretty awesome right?

And here I put it to the test:

Astalift Sunblock

Indeed, it changes to a beautiful shade of purple when it’s out in the sun.

It is très, très cool, without doubt. However, from a practical dollars-and-cents approach, I wonder how much this sunblock would cost if it didn’t come with this fantastic UV censor cap. Because I don’t go around town with a tube of sunblock hanging from my necklace, I don’t think this sunblock will actually be alerting me to the dangerous UV rays outside when it’s stashed in my makeup pouch at home most of the time. Hmm. If I buy a second tube and recycle the cap from the first tube, can I get a discount?😉😛 And oh, this sunblock actually smells good too!😀

Price: $72 (30g)


Astalift White Brightening Mask

#2: ASTALIFT White Brightening Mask

I hoard masks. Yes I do. And this one is interesting because it has a dual-layer structure so as to target the cheeks and temples (areas prone to age spots and skin dullness).

It has Nano AMA, Nano Astaxanthin, Arbutin, and 3 types of collagen, yeast extract, peony extract, and also comes with a “sweet damask rose scent”.

I’ve only received one sheet of this mask, so I can’t really offer a qualified opinion after just one use. [*Feel free to send me more. Haha!]

Price: $22 for 1 piece or $92 for 6 pieces ($40 cheaper if you buy 6 at a go)


Astalift White Drink

#3: ASTALIFT White Shield Drink

This beauty supplement is caffeine-free and suitable for daily consumption. It contains 4mg of Nano Astaxanthin and comes in a peach & lemon flavor. You can buy a box of 10 and share it with family or friends – I think you’ll get some mixed responses. Some of my media pals liked the drink while I thought it was quite sour. (Sorry lah, I like sweet stuff)

What is impressive, though, is how the drink contains “Pure Collagen, whose bitterness-causing impurities are reduced through FUJIFILM’s proprietary manufacturing process.” Who knew that collagen is actually bitter in taste? Well, I guess a sour-tasting drink is better than a bitter one.

Price: $60 for 10 bottles, 50ml each

ASTALIFT’s Singapore stores are located at Wisma Atria (#03-30) and JEM (#01-20).


Interesting Reads:

1: The last Kodak moment? http://www.economist.com/node/21542796

2. How Fujiflim survived: http://www.economist.com/blogs/schumpeter/2012/01/how-fujifilm-survived

5 thoughts on “FUJIFILM Makes Skincare Products. Bet You Didn’t Know That! ;)

    • Yalor! I thought it was so incredible that FUJIFILM would branch into skincare… then I realized that oh ok, they already have the existing technology and knowledge, just different application.😀 Btw, you want to try the drink? I still have 8 bottles left.😀

Comments are closed.