Best Seats @ Waterway Point’s SHAW IMAX Theatre

Waterway Point Shaw IMAX cinema

I watched Warcraft: The Beginning at Waterway Point’s SHAW cinema (in IMAX) yesterday and was blown away by the sound and image quality of the IMAX experience. Ticket prices truly reflect the value moviegoers get, so you can pay up to S$22 for a ticket during “peak” periods. Off peak tickets are at S$19. Students pay between S$14 to S$17. At such prices, I guess most people will want to know which are the best seats in the house so read on!๐Ÿ˜€

First up, a quick review of the movie ‘Warcraft’: I thought it was an intriguing mix of ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Lord Of The Rings’ what with the hippogriff-like creature, all that magic, orcs, dwarves and all. After 123 minutes of screentime, it appears that there’ll be a few more Warcraft movies. The movie can get a bit boring at times (your movie buddy may just fall asleep next to you) and you might begin to wonder why you decided to watch this movie in IMAX. LOL! I suspect this movie was not made for 3D screening.

However, after watching a trailer, I think the movie Ghostbusters might be a better choice for viewing in IMAX 3D! After all, there’s nothing scarier than getting up close with a ghost, ย or having some ghoul spill out its guts at you. Haha! ‘Independence Day’ might be another good movie to watch in IMAX though I’m not sure I’ll like the plot ‘cos the trailer just seemed like a whole sequence of CG effects to me.

As for the best seats in the house when it comes to IMAX at Waterway Point, I believe you should ditch the aisle seats and just select those right in the middle. We sat at A5 and A6 yesterday – the extreme right corner seats at the last row. I found that I was sitting too near to the sound system and it sometimes got a little loud (@_@) However, if you have problems with your hearing then those would be the best seats in the house for you.๐Ÿ™‚

Because the screen is so wide, though, I think I can only accept seats in the final row. Anything else would be too close to the screen. The other thing that’s wide is the space between each row of seats. You can most certainly give your legs a good stretch.

*Check out for the IMAX family package; you can get 4 tickets at S$58 or S$68 (T&Cs apply)๐Ÿ™‚