Lunch @ Kim’s Place Seafood: Really Good Hokkien Mee & 10 Percent Discount!

Kim's Place Hokkien Prawn Mee

I’ve previously blogged about Kim’s Place at Jalan Eunos. This particular post is about Kim’s Place Seafood at Joo Chiat Place (a short car ride away), where you can dine in air-conditioned comfort. I really love Kim’s hokkien mee.😀 And apparently, Singapore’s hokkien mee is very different from KL’s. My pal told me that KL’s version of hokkien mee comes with black sauce and the noodles are thicker (?!) and in comparison, Singapore’s hokkien mee seems to have been served up by chefs who forgot to add the black sauce! LOL! Still, I really like our version of hokkien mee ‘cos I grew up eating it this way sans black sauce!😀

And as you can see in the picture above, there’s a good amount of seafood and even fried pork lard by the side (I usually skip these). Just a squeeze of lime, and some of the chili sauce for the noodles, and your belly will feel very happy after that.😀

We popped by this particular outlet as my love had bought a Groupon voucher for lunch-for-two and it came with a platter of veggies, oyster omelette and some dessert. Here’s the Nai Bai (奶白菜) a.k.a Baby Pak Choi. On the receipt, it is stated as ‘Milk White’. What a literal translation!🙂

Kim's Place Garlic Milk White Veg

Since I started preparing more meals at home, I’ve realized just how dirty these vegetables can get. Soil and even small worms can be found trapped between those stalks, so I get especially wary when eating out and if I’m served a platter of vegetables like that, I check for soil and creepy crawlies before popping the veggies into my mouth. Fortunately, they seem really clean here.

As for the oyster omelette, it was the first time I ate this dish on a hot plate. Really good idea since oyster omelette doesn’t taste as good once it gets cold! However, the sauce tasted exceedingly salty to me (but for him, it was ok).

Kim's Place Hot Plate Oyster Omelette

Dessert was some longan and almond jelly cubes. I wasn’t too concerned with these side dishes as I came here just for the hokkien mee!😀


If you’re popping by Kim’s Place, go to your app store and download ‘Poket Rewards’. After you’ve created an account and downloaded the Kim’s Place reward card, you can enjoy 10% discount, $5 welcome voucher and $50 birthday voucher.🙂 *I only knew about this after I spotted the standee while having my meal here. Have downloaded the app and look forward to using the vouchers on my next visit.😀

Kim’s Place Seafood is located at 43 Joo Chiat Place.Tel: 6742 1119.

Opening Hours:  Monday to Sunday 11am – 1am

Kim’s Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee is located at  62B Jalan Eunos. Tel: 6747 8766.

Operating Hours : 11am – 1am.

*Seems like there’s another outlet at Serangoon NEX’s Food Junction #04-36/37 ( Stall 5 ) which I have yet to visit🙂