$1 Sushi Day at umisushi: Got mine at Waterway Point :D

Umisushi waterway point

I FINALLY got my hands on the S$1 special promotion sushi at umisushi – “umiday” happens every Thursday, from now till 4 Aug. I popped by Waterway Point early today to get some fresh sushi. Each pack of 2 pieces of sushi costs just S$1, and I got 6 of them. More than enough to share with my sister.

I think what really surprised me about the S$1 sushi is the quality of the rice – it’s tasty, soft and fresh. It’s not hard and dry like at some other sushi takeout places. I like the unagi, tuna and salmon roe sushi. I did not buy any of the tamago or crabstick ones as I don’t like them.

Interestingly, the sushi here doesn’t have a consistent size. In a pack of two, it’s really evident that one piece of sushi might be 10 – 20% bigger than the other. I suppose they make the sushi by hand. I know of some sushi places in which machines help get the rice into a standard shape and size, and employees simply add the ingredients on top. But for S$1, I’m really not complaining!😀

umiday is on 14, 21, 28 July and 4 Aug, so mark your calendars and make your way down to one of the outlets islandwide. umisushi has some 22 outlets in Singapore, but this promotion is not valid at Victory 8 (which I’ve just found out is in Sembawang). You can find the outlet nearest to your home or office using their outlet locator here: http://www.umisushi.com.sg/locate-us.html

*umisushi also serves bentos, udon, sashimi and salads – all of which I’ve yet to try.😀