Thye Moh Chan 泰茂栈: Teochew Flaky-skinned Mooncakes

thye moh chan mooncakes

I think the older generation of Teochew people in Singapore would be familiar with this brand: Thye Moh Chan 泰茂栈. It’s been around since 1943 and is well-known for its flaky-skinned pastries. I picked up a box of mooncakes at their Paragon outlet (#B1-11) yesterday, and got 1 each of the 4 main flavors: Salty, Sweet, Double Delight and Yuan Yang. I almost didn’t believe they are mooncakes as they look more like Tau Sar Piah (豆沙饼).

And speaking of Tau Sar Piah, Thye Moh Chan has some with interesting ingredients: prune, bak kwa and longan. I’ve yet to try them but if you’re game for it, go pop by one of Thye Moh Chan’s 2 outlets: one at Paragon, the other is at Chinatown Point (#01-45).

I’ve always liked flaky crust pastries because they are so delicate, ‘light’ and give the illusion of having fewer calories (there seems to be just “air” between those delightfully thin layers?). The drawback, however, of eating these flaky goodies is that it gets messy really fast and, unfortunately, according to this Straits Times article from 2015, flaky crust mooncakes are likely to contain more fat than traditional baked ones or snow skin mooncakes. Uh-oh! Just exercise portion control and share the love with friends and family, ok? That way you can still indulge without too much guilt!

Of the 4 flavors, I like the sweet one best (no surprise there). The Sweet Tau Sar
甜豆沙 comes with just the right level of sweetness. I might have eaten the whole thing if not for my other half’s watchful eye and nagging.

If you’re not a fan of sweet stuff, then go for the savory ones: Salty Tau Sar With Salted Egg Yolk 咸豆沙(咸蛋黄), Double Delight 潮州双拼 and Yuan Yang With Salted Egg Yolk
鸳鸯(咸蛋黄). Also, there’s a “Teochew Mooncake 潮州月饼” which is big, flat and round like a frisbee. I’ve never tried one of those before!

Thye Moh Chan also has some ‘limited edition’ mooncakes: Yam With Salted Egg
Yolk 芋泥(咸蛋黄) and Mao Shan Wang Durian 猫山王榴莲. I don’t eat yam and neither do I like durian, so if you have tried these flavors, let me know!🙂

thye moh chan paragon

I’m not sure if the store decor at Chinatown is the same as in Paragon, but they have these cool sliding drawers that store the mooncakes in their Paragon outlet. LOL. Go have a look!🙂

thye moh chan mooncake review