Rainbow Cottage: Kid-friendly Waffle / Gelato Cafe in Ang Mo Kio

Rainbow Cottage Waffle

Thanks to Groupon, my sweeter half takes me around the island to check out lesser-known cafes and restaurants. Sometimes we find hidden gems; sometimes we don’t. I’m glad we popped by Rainbow Cottage in Ang Mo Kio though. It’s one place we can meet friends-with-kids next time for gelato, cakes, waffles or simply, drinks.

As you can see in the first picture above, we had a waffle and 2 scoops of gelato (vanilla and double chocolate). The chocolate was good. I’ll probably skip vanilla for thai milk tea or some other flavor in future. And I believe that might be a Cath Kidston teapot. It’s super adorable. The pot actually sits atop the cup, so it’s excellent for storage. I like how feminine it is, what with the teaspoon with a ‘gem’ at the end, and two little iced gem biscuits beside the cup. Very, very pretty.

As for the waffle itself, it’s definitely crispy. However, it’s not fluffy enough for my liking. I like the waffles at Meet and Melt but I have yet to try the charcoal waffle (with salted egg) at Rainbow Cottage for a fair apples-to-apples comparison.

What is undeniably an edge for Rainbow Cottage is their kids play corner. Some parents I know will be so relieved to be able to deposit their children at the play area, and sink into a comfy sofa and enjoy a cool treat while keeping a watchful eye on their children.

Rainbow Cottage Ang Mo Kio

Singapore child friendly cafe

If you’re out with little kids in the Ang Mo Kio area, and you need a break from the children *ahem* I mean, from the hot weather, just pop in for some gelato. From the many tags on Instagram, I think Rainbow Cottage has earned many fans because of their cheesecakes. So, give them a try and tell me what you think.

Rainbow Cottage is located at Ang Mo Kio Blk 452 #01-1777

Tel: 6451 2483

Opening hours: 11am to 9.45pm

They are on Instagram @rainbow.cottage.