GroVe: Vegetarian Food at Waterway Point, Punggol (Part One)

GroVe Waterway Point

Waterway Point has been open for about 7 months now, and I’ve only just visited this eatery selling vegetarian food this week. I think I hesitated for SO LONG because I’m not the biggest fan of vegetarian, and especially vegan, food. Sometimes I just love meat and things like salmon sashimi (*sigh*). Having popped by GroVe at Waterway Point though, I think I just may have a few more vegetarian meals in the coming months!

If you haven’t already realized, vegetarian and vegan food are less taxing on your digestive system. The same burger + fries + drink combo would leave you feeling heavy and full if it’s not a vegetarian meal. The vegetarian version simply leaves you feeling pleasantly satiated, and it’s unlikely that you’ll experience a ‘food coma’.

This was what I experienced at GroVe.

I ordered a new item on their menu: the Hawaiian Teriyaki Burger with Fries ($8.80) and added a dollar for their original milk tea (there’s a version with peach, which I’ll try next time).

The burger buns were so soft and fluffy, the pineapple very juicy, and the fries were hot and crispy without being oily (I was so impressed!) The ‘patty’ itself has the same texture as luncheon meat! Go slice through it with a knife and you’ll see what I mean. Incredible! *Of course, this is processed food too. So I wouldn’t say it’s extremely healthy.

As for the drink, I was blown away by how similar it was to Koi’s milk tea. Just add the ‘pearls’, I guess, and it can pass off as Koi bubble tea. Apparently the drink is from the brand Utopia, which hails from Australia. I’ll definitely need to get another cup, since the $1 top-up makes the drink cheaper than those from Koi or GongCha.😀

*GroVe has a weekday promotion: Value Meals at $9.80 with a choice of Peach Tea or Plum Green Tea. Mains are: Smoky BBQ Burger w/Fries (Monday), Oyster Mushroom Cream Pasta (Tuesday), Potato Baked Rice w/Japanese Curry Sauce (Wednesday), Kung Pao Monkey-Head Mushroom Noodle (Thursday) and Sweet & Sour Monkey Head Mushroom Rice (Friday). *Not valid on Public Holidays.

You can find GroVe / Utopia at #02-20/21, Waterway Point. It’s located next to the foodcourt, and opposite Buddy Hoagies.