Slappy Cakes: Restaurant For Pancake Lovers To Play With Their Food

Slappy Cakes The Grandstand

Thanks to my pal, Steven, I’m already a fan of Dancing Crab at The Grandstand (Turf Club Road). Now, thanks to my neighbors, I’m also a fan of Slappy Cakes which is located just below Dancing Crab (the two are linked by a staircase, and served by the same staff). I believe Tung Lok Group brought in the Slappy Cake franchise from Portland. There’s also another Slappy Cakes outlet at RWS but I’ve not been to that one yet. Apparently, it’s next to Universal Studios (keep an eye out for it the next time you visit *wink*) Before reaching Slappy Cakes, I’d thought that it’d just be yet another place for pancakes (which may or may not taste good) and if there are any non-pancake items on the menu, they would probably not be very good. Oops! Thankfully, I was wrong.πŸ˜€

I made only one of these pancakes. The rest were done by my neighbor…

Slappy Cakes pancakes

I made the ‘Hello Kitty’ pancake and my neighbor is ‘Mr Bojio’. Did you guess correctly?πŸ˜€ *There’s a trick to creating these pancakes… you have to do everything in reverse, i.e. write the words or draw the facial features first before adding on the ‘background’

I like that the restaurant offers free wifi (look out for the username and password on sheets pasted on the walls). However, the ‘pan’ in the middle of the table takes up A LOT of space. The tables really should be bigger, especially if people are expected to order mains, and make pancakes for ‘dessert’.

 Slappy Cakes Bukit Timah

Each bottle of pancake batter costs S$8.50 before tax. It’s kinda pricey. Choose from Buttermilk (we heard it’s bland), Whole Grain, Peanut Butter, Chocolate and Pandan. You can see our choices above. We also had add-ons of banana for $1.50 (the kiddo likes it), roasted mushrooms ($2), and maple syrup ($3).

I made some chocolate (pancake) coinsπŸ˜€ They actually taste pretty good if they’re not too thick and left to cook till the edges are crispy…

Slappy Cakes Chocolate Batter

Now for the mains… some of us had the Old-fashioned Breaded Dory Fish ($17) which was decent. Crispy on the outside, tender and juicy within. The baked potato needs work though.

Slappy Cakes Old-fashioned Breaded Dory Fish

And do not be fooled by this ordinary-looking Carbonara ($12). The creamy white sauce is AWESOME! How do they make carbonara so tasty?!!! For just $12 before tax, this dish is a MUST-ORDER one.

Slappy Cakes Spaghetti Carbonara

Then, there’s Pan-seared Cajun Chicken ($18). Decent chicken, nothing exceptional. I liked the boiled veggies though.πŸ™‚

Slappy Cakes Pan-seared Cajun Chicken

Here’s my mini pancake tower:

Slappy Cakes Review Singapore

I think Slappy Cakes is great for a night out with friends. You can chat while waiting for the pancakes to cook.πŸ™‚ And it’s always funny when people attempt to make a hello kitty pancake and it turns out looking like a crab!πŸ˜€

~

Slappy Cakes
The Grandstand
200 Turf Club Road (Old Turf Club in Bt.Timah)
#01-20/21
Singapore 287994
Tel : +65 6465 1814

Slappy Cakes
The Grandstand
200 Turf Club Road (Old Turf Club in Bt.Timah)
#01-20/21
Singapore 287994
Tel : +65 6465 1814