CNY Floral Arrangement at Bright Hill Evergreen Home

Bright Hill Evergreen Home

When a local florist contacted me regarding a sponsored Chinese New Year flower display, I asked that they donate it to the less privileged and spread the festive cheer. They then outdid themselves when they invited me to a floral arrangement workshop they organized at Bright Hill Evergreen Home which is within my neighborhood. Interestingly, I’ve gone past the home before, but didn’t know it’s a nursing home. I thought it was simply a foreign workers’ dormitory located just next to a Chinese temple. And even though I was (and still am) greatly hampered by my inability to speak dialects, I truly relished the opportunity of spending an afternoon with some elderly folks who like floral arrangements.

Channel NewsAsia did a documentary about nursing homes not too long ago, and television host Anita Kapoor spent two weeks living in a home. She described it as being as if you were “in a hospital for the rest of your life”. While Bright Hill Evergreen Home appears to be a well-run home, I’m sure it’s still tough as long as you aren’t staying with family and if you don’t get frequent visits from family members. I hope the flowers, and the company of the volunteers, brought the elderly folks some joy that day.

Here, I help hold up the spongy base that had been pre-soaked in water while one of the elderly residents puts a rubber band around the wrapping paper to hold it in place:Bright Hill Evergreen Home punggol

The company was also very generous in sponsoring fresh flowers and other leafy plants so the elderly could put together their very own floral arrangements:

Chinese New Year Floral Arrangement

Aren’t they simply gorgeous? 🙂

floral arrangement class

Floral Arrangement workshop

While I did not spend two weeks in a nursing home, what little time I spent there had me decide that being old and living in a home other than my own is not much fun at all. So, whenever possible, I hope to spread more cheer to those who are without family… and perhaps I might be able to pick up some dialect after all. 🙂Bright Hill Evergreen nursing home

Many thanks to Floral Garage Singapore for sharing the joy with the elderly at Bright Hill Evergreen Home and to Hearted Moments for the lovely pictures.

