Kinder Joy: Toys For Girls vs Toys For Boys

kinder joy chocolate

You must have tried one of these Kinder Joy eggs before, or at least the Kinder Surprise ones before them. The difference between the two? The Kinder Joy ones can be pulled apart: chocolate on one side, toy on the other. The Kinder Surprise ones come with a whole chocolate egg and a plastic capsule within that contains the toy. And you might not know this: the chocolate eggs are banned in the U.S. as the toy is hidden within the ‘candy confection’ and might be a choking hazard. Don’t ask me why. I’ve never tried eating the chocolate egg whole before. ๐Ÿ˜›

This time round, I’m more concerned about what’s within the Kinder Joy egg since they’ve clearly been labelled as being “For Girls” or “For Boys”. Would I like the toys that are supposedly for girls, or would I prefer those deemed to be for boys? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve only got 6 Kinder Joy eggs so I’m fully aware that these toys represent just a small fraction of their toy offerings but here goes…

Out of 3 “For Girls” eggs, I got 2 toys from the same range, just in different colors. And they don’t really work very wellย as they aren’t very springy. But I guess if you just want to throw something at someone, these could still do the trick. ๐Ÿ˜› I really do like that jigsaw-like ‘ball’? Simply fit the 6 pieces together and you get a ball. I think all kids (whether boy or girl) would have fun piecing them together.

kinder joy singapore

Now for the “boys” toys…

There’s a sheep that’s supposed to bounce as well but it’s not not very entertaining. There’s the red bike (is it a Harley?) that’s decent – just give it a little push and it can travel quite a distance. Better than expected since it came out of a chocolate egg. And finally there’s that yellow lion with a purple-and-blue chat box. It’s TOO COOL.

kinder joy toys

Use the lion’s tail as you would a pen and you can scribble out messages or draw on the little screen. It’s obviously more suited to little fingers. ๐Ÿ˜€ Flip the switch at the back of the ‘screen’ and your message gets magically erased.

kinder joy

I guess you can tell which toys I prefer more. I’d say the ones for boys are more interesting at this point. ๐Ÿ˜€

That said, I wonder why there is a need to demarcate which toys are for boys and which are for girls. After all, if you have a daughter and a son at home, it’s not as if they won’t be snatching (and playing with) each other’s toys. ๐Ÿ˜›

