Recommended: Hong Kong Street Zi Char @ 339 Ang Mo Kio Ave 1

hong kong street zi char prawn paste chicken

After attending the Books Box Sale at Pansing yesterday, my pals and I were famished! We decided to trust Google for a zi char recommendation. I basically keyed in the search terms “ang mo kio zi char” and the stall at the top of the list was closed so next in line was this Hong Kong Street Zi Char which had some 4 out of 5 stars (what sort of ranking this is, I have no idea but hungry people don’t question supposedly questionable ratings). And it was barely a 7-minute drive away so off we went. And my goodness, Google is awesome! My very atas and very picky pals couldn’t find any fault at all with the dishes we ordered! We were hungry, yes, but every dish was delicious. You can’t even find fault with the plating, as you can see with the Prawn Paste Chicken dish above in a fan / flower layout with the lime in the middle. 🙂

At other zi char places, the food can be stacked haphazardly like this:

wang ji 268 seafood restaurant

Prawn Paste Chicken I ate elsewhere. And they weren’t properly cooked through either.

We ordered a total of 5 dishes, and the bill came up to just $41. We were almost bursting at the seams by the end of this makan session.

hong kong street zi char ang mo kio kai lan

Even the Hong Kong Kai Lan fried with garlic was delicious. What sorcery is this?!

I had the fish (meat) bee hoon soup. Very fleshy portions of fish – watch out for the small bones within though. Add some chili padi and this is a very yummy meal on its own.

hong kong street zi char bee hoon soup

Many of this zi char stall’s specialty dishes contain salted fish, which I’m not a fan of. But I went ahead and tasted these next two dishes and boy, where they good!

ang mo kio zi char

zi char ang mo kio

If you are in Ang Mo Kio and would like a good zi char meal, look no further than Hong Kong Street Zi Char. I read online that there are a few other stalls with similar names in Ang Mo Kio but this one has a 4-out-of-5-stars rating, ok? I’d give it 5 stars anyway! 🙂

Address: 339 Ang Mo Kio Ave 1

Note the opening hours below:

hong kong street zi char opening hours

