Ladies Who Inspire Me

It’s been quite a while since I last uploaded an interview post. A part of it may be attributed to plain ol’ laziness, and another to a desire to find out if readers actually care about getting their weekly dose of inspiration from this blog. ๐Ÿ˜€

To make it up to those who have been faithfully reading every blogpost of mine and have been asking me the “Why haven’t you been blogging?!” questions, here’s a quick update…

Three ladies, in particular, have inspired me this week!

1) Amanda Teng, who blogs at sgvegan.wordpress.com. It’s pretty amazing to see how her blog has flourished since the time(s) when she was procrastinating about starting a blog and I was encouraging (then, forcing) her to start one. I now foresee her blog becoming the authority on all things vegan in the near future. Glad to say I had a part to play in all that, since she started her blog after coming for my Blogging Workshop. ๐Ÿ™‚

2) Delcie, fromย www.delciesdesserts.com, who is 28 but already a very successful entrepreneur. I’m so glad that her dessert store exists, because I can now order diabetic-friendly birthday cakes and desserts for my dad!

3) Susannah Low, who blogs atย susannahblog.blogspot.com. This lady is really multi-talented – she’s an emcee, she sings, she dances, she makes balloon sculptures, plus a whole lot of other cool stuff. Here are two balloon sculptures she made for me – I gave them to little kids at a BBQ! ๐Ÿ™‚

Susannah shared with me that she likes balloon sculpting because it helps people keep things in perspective (and their ego in check). Balloon sculptures are usually burst soon after they are made and photographed (and you certainly cannot expect to keep one in your display cabinet). You are essentially only as good as what you can create next; past successes don’t really count as the balloon sculptures have already been pricked and no longer exist!

Also, balloon sculpture artists aren’t afraid of failure, in Susannah’s own words. If the balloon bursts as she’s delivering it to a friend, she’ll just let her friend know that she’ll make her a new one the next day. And the artists actually like demolishing their own creations after they’ve been photographed (since the balloons can’t retain their shape and color for long anyway).

I certainly learnt something from her about not resting on my laurels and constantly improving my (blogging) skills! ๐Ÿ™‚
There! I’ve gotten my blogging engine started again. Will be bringing you those interviews and more in a heartbeat. Stay tuned! ๐Ÿ˜‰